Book picks similar to
How to Adult by Stephen Wildish


non-fiction
humor
contemporary
mental-health

All On The Board: Inspirational quotes from the TfL underground duo


All on the Board - 2020
    

If You Did What I Asked in the First Place


Lori B. Duff - 2019
    Duff bares the creaky, embarrassing parts of our high school cafeteria-scarred souls for us, leaving us no choice but to laugh at our failures, no matter how spectacular, and rejoice in our successes, no matter how itty-bitty. She shows women that each one of us is a wonder in our own way, with the ability — whether we know it or not — to make the best of life’s often absurd situations. Reading If You Did What I Asked In the First Place is like sitting down with a good friend who helps you make it through the day. Pour yourself a glass of whatever makes you feel better and take off any constricting undergarments: Let loose with the knowledge that you are not alone. You have Lori at your side.

Figuring Shit Out: Love, Laughter, Suicide, and Survival


Amy Biancolli - 2014
    "I mean, YOUR life isn't over. Beyond the kids. You'll go on living, doing things. This isn't it."I know, I assure him. I have the kids. They need me. They're my life now."OK," he replies, then grunts—more of a brief hum. He only hums when he thinks I'm full of shit.Shockingly single. Amy Biancolli's life went off script more dramatically than most after her husband of twenty years jumped off the roof of a parking garage. Left with three children, a three-story house, and a pile of knotty psychological complications, Amy realizes the flooding dishwasher, dead car battery, rapidly growing lawn, basement sump pump, and broken doorknob aren't going to fix themselves. She also realizes that "figuring shit out" means accepting the horrors that came her way, rolling with them, slogging through them, helping others through theirs, and working her way through life with love and laughter.Amy Biancolli is an author and journalist whose column appears in the Albany Times Union. Before that, Amy served as film critic for the Houston Chronicle where her reviews, published around the country, won her the 2007 Comment and Criticism Award from the Texas Associated Press Managing Editors Association. Biancolli is the author of House of Holy Fools: A Family Portrait in Six Cracked Parts, which earned her Albany Author of the Year. Amy lives in Albany, New York, with her three children.

Miranda's Daily Dose of Such Fun!: 365 joy-filled tasks to make your life more engaging, fun, caring and jolly


Miranda Hart - 2017
    So, I say; every day try to do something jolly that you can look back on with a smile, be grateful for, knowing it has brought kindness to others at the same time. For Comic Relief.

Fat Girl, Skinny


Amye Archer - 2016
    With the help of the gang of girls of Weight Watchers, and their fearless leader —former fatty and community college dropout—Pantsuit Pam, Amye spends the next year losing weight and learning to live in a skinny (er) woman’s body. Only being skinny is not as easy as it looks, especially when inside, she will always be a fat girl. Fat Girl, Skinny is Amye’s story, but it’s also the story of anyone who has ever been told: “You’d be pretty…if”.

Mrs Hinch: The Activity Journal


Sophie Hinchliffe - 2019
    1 SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLERTake some time to relax and unwind with Mrs Hinch: The Activity Journal 'A must for fans' Mail on Sunday ________________Hello! Mrs Hinch here! Welcome to your very own Hinch activity journal!This little book is all about giving yourself the gift of time out: time to plan, time to dream, time to relax, time for us to have a bit of a giggle and a de-stress.We all live such stressful lives and it can be hard to take a moment just to breathe, but I want this book to be all about YOU. Something that we can all enjoy together.So, make yourself a cuppa and curl up with this journal on the sofa in the mornings, or use it to wind down every evening before bed; whenever you need a bit of calm - just don't forget your crystal pen, as there are loads of relaxing, light-hearted activities for you to have fun with. Plus plenty of pages for you to plan your own hinching lists ready for the week ahead.Read from start to finish or dip in on random pages - there are absolutely no rules here! Think of it as a book-shaped slice of you time. You deserve it!Love, Mrs Hinch xx'Get your Hinch on with to-do lists and plenty of relaxing, light-hearted activities to just have some fun with' Heat'The perfect gift for anyone who needs to a deep breath and relax' Good Housekeeping__________________'The sensation' Sun'We're mad about Mrs Hinch' Vogue'My new cleaning goddess' Daily Telegraph

Shit Happens So Get Over it


Summersdale - 2011
    The world owes you nothing. It was here first."  —Mark Twain "Anyone who trades liberty for security deserves neither."  —Benjamin Franklin "When your dreams turn to dust, vacuum."  —Desmond Tutu Ever had one of those days when nothing seems to go your way? Poor little you. Now deal with it! Life is too short to spend moping around when instead you could be taking things with a pinch of salt—and a shot of tequila. Here's a book packed with straight-talking quotations to help you get a grip and find the brighter side.

Cognitive Behavioural Therapy: Your Route Out of Perfectionism, Self-Sabotage and Other Everyday Habits


Avy Joseph - 2008
    If you've ever tried to change something about yourself - your mood, your weight, your behaviour - you'll have noticed that change often hurts, so you stop trying. CBT can help you when change starts to hurt. In this book, professional CBT practitioner Avy Joseph shows you how to challenge negative thoughts and unhealthy beliefs to improve your outlook in your personal and professional life. Whether you want to break the spiral of depression, anxiety or guilt, achieve work-life balance or make an important change, this book will help you reach your goals and maintain a positive outlook - no matter what life throws at you.Remember: It's you - not your circumstance - that holds the key to change. Don't limit yourself.

Anxious Man: Notes on a life lived nervously


Josh Roberts - 2020
    

You'd Be Paranoid Too if Everyone Was Out to Get You: A Collection of Personal Stories and Insights


Awsten Knight
    Whether or not you know that is beside the point, what you need to know is that he speaks the truth about some very important things. Since his band has rocketed to success he has been around the world and back again, and he has brought back some very keen observations and insights that will be incredibly beneficial to your life. If you want an honest take on how things really work, as seen through the eyes of an early twenty-something musician with impeccable taste in sunglasses and a forever color changing mop adorning his top, look no further, this book is for you.You'd Be Paranoid Too (If Everyone Was Out to Get You) differs from other musician's autobiographies in that Awsten Knight has decided to take his fans along for the ride with him on this one. Having the unique ability to speak to people on a real level is one of the things that sets Awsten apart from other frontmen-and in his debut book, Awsten has woven personal tales of life and love in with a barrage of real unanswered questions. Dealing with toxic people, learning to love yourself, and waging war on an evil monopolistic mega-corporation are merely a few of the topics you will delve into when you look inside this young visionary's mind beyond the thoughts that usually make up 280 characters.

Striped Pears and Polka Dots: The Art of Being Happy


Kirsten Sevig - 2018
    She paints rainbow-colored rooftops, striped pears, birds in hats, teacups, cats, and more—all drawn to bring joy to anyone who views them. When the weather is rainy and gray, Sevig paints herself some sunshine. When she feels sad, she paints something colorful to cheer herself up; when anxious, something soothing and repetitive; when overwhelmed, she makes a series of small decisions about what to put on the page and begins to feel empowered.In Striped Pears and Polka Dots, Sevig invites readers into her cozy, sunny world of snail mail, patterned socks and knitted sweaters, ice cream and flaky croissants, and dachshunds in sweaters. This perfect gift book will inspire readers to look around and notice all the little happy-makers that surround them in their daily lives.

Read This If: A Collection of Essays that Prove Someone Else Gets it, Too


Thought Catalog - 2016
    And yet, so much of what you're going through is relatable to so many others. This book will show you that you are never alone. Read this book if nobody texted you good morning. Read this book if you're worried that you'll never find the one. Read this book if there's something you can't forgive yourself for. Whatever you're feeling, this book will help you to feel understood.

Be a Sloth & When In Doubt, Just Chill Out


Sarah Ford - 2018
    He knows what makes him happy (naps, box-set binges, a good banana) and what makes him unhappy (laundry day, the gym, people who don't recycle), and he makes sure his life is filled with more of the former than the latter. He is kind to his environment, but, just as importantly, he is kind to himself. Be like Sloth, and you'll discover the secret to escaping the rat race and living a happy life in the slow lane.A fun little gift book full of cute, hilarious and inspirational sloth mantras.

If Clouds Were Sheep: A tale of sheep farming in the Cotswolds


Sue Andrews - 2019
    She is a horse-mad girl strongly attracted to the idea of farming, Aubrey is the son of a farm manager without land or money. But with limited knowledge, much enthusiasm and the challenge of raising their young family, anything can happen. This is the true story of a shepherding life; where icy nights are spent searching for lost sheep, the lambing sheds are filled with the first cries of newborns, and idyllic summers are spent in the show ring. Amusing, poignant and beautifully detailed, this is a book about how dreams can grow from small beginnings into breeding prize-winning Texel sheep in the Cotswolds. Sue and Aubrey Andrews are internationally renowned breeders of pedigree Texels. Perfect for fans of The Yorkshire Shepherdess and The Shepherd's Life.

The Best Damn Answers to Life’s Hardest Questions: A Flowchart Book


Tess Koman - 2018
    A humorous guide to adulthood in a collection of 54 charmingly illustrated flowcharts and pros-and-cons lists that each address an all-too-real question, from the mundane to the life-changing. Will I survive this hangover? (Probably not.) Should I cancel my plans? (YES! Cancel immediately.) Am I having a quarter-life crisis? (Probably.) Do I even like this person? (Nope, nope, nope.) This inspired book of humor disguised as invaluable advice is a gift to make anyone feel better, proving that every question, thought, and decision, no matter how ridiculous or irresponsible, is completely valid.