Book picks similar to
Busy Toes by C.W. Bowie


picture-books
african-american
childrens
multicultural-literature

Yesterday I Had the Blues


Jeron Ashford Frame - 2003
    But one thing’s for sure: when you’ve got love around you, the blues won’t stick around long.

Baby Shoes


Dashka Slater - 2006
    But he just can't resist stomping through puddles, squishing fallen plums, and dancing in fresh paint. It isn't long before those white, high-jumping, fast-running shoes are speckled and spotted with every color of the rainbow. Dashka Slater's delightful, rhythmic text and Hiroe Nakata's jaunty illustrations are the perfect match for this playful tale of fun, sun, and fabulous shoes!

Being Friends


Karen Beaumont - 2002
    . . we both like being friends!In lilting rhyme and charming images two true-blue best friends proclaim their differences, and have fun with them too. So when one wants to play baseball and the other prefers a game of dress-up, a true pal finds she can pitch while wearing a tiara. And though one buddy favors days and the other nights-both like having pillow fights!

Cool Cuts


Mechal Renee Roe - 2020
    From a 'fro-hawk to mini-twists and crisp cornrows, adorable illustrations of boys with cool curls, waves, and afros grace each page, accompanied by a positive call-and-response affirmation that will make boys cheer. It's a great read-aloud to promote positive self-esteem to boys of all ages, building and growing the foundation of self-love (and hair love!) and letting every boy know that "You are born to be awesome!"And look for the companion book for girls, Happy Hair, coming in fall 2019!

Whose Knees Are These?


Jabari Asim - 2006
    A vibrant, multicultural board book that celebrates a baby's sweet knees, for fans of Ten Tiny Fingers and Ten Little Toes. Parents and children will enjoy this interactive board book full of toddler appeal that is perfect for celebrating a baby's adorable knees.Snuggle with your child on your lap while you enjoy this fun, rhyming text and bold artwork.

Please, Louise


Toni Morrison - 2013
    With the help of a new library card and through the transformative power of books, what started out as a dull day turns into one of surprises, ideas, and fun, fun, fun! Inspired by Pulitzer Prize–winning author Toni Morrison’s experience working in a library as a young girl, this engaging picture book celebrates the wonders of reading, the enchanting capacity of the imagination, and, of course, the splendor of libraries.

Over the River and Through the Wood


Emma Randall - 2018
    Coupled with Emma Randall's delightful illustrations, the familiar poem-turned-song is the perfect way to celebrate the season. Just remember to leave room for pumpkin pie!Praise for Over the River and Through the Wood This jaunty, optimistic interpretation of the nostalgic Thanksgiving song will be useful in library holiday collections as well as for family celebrations. --Kirkus

Being You


Alexs Pate - 2018
    YOU is a beautiful picture book celebrating every readers' individuality and talents. With an authentic voice, YOU's poetic message of love and optimism for the future speaks directly to today's children. YOU helps us to see the wonder and light within each of us.

Darkness Slipped In


Ella Burfoot - 2008
    Together, Daisy and Darkness dance and play until bedtime. This enchanting story personifies Darkness as a friendly and welcome visitor. The bold design includes a wonderfully tactile varnish to highlight Darkness's looming shape as he fills the room. The book's striking use of black and white is enlivened by vibrant accents of hot pinks and warm yellows. The rhyming text is a delight to read aloud and will help allay a childhood fear of the dark. Darkness Slipped In has all the makings of a modern classic!

And If the Moon Could Talk


Kate Banks - 1998
    Inside a house, a child is getting ready for bed. A hall light is switched on, toys and animals are settled in their places. Papa reads a story, Mama comes in to say good night, dreams wait to enter sleep...And if the moon could talk, it would tell of the many different nighttime activities that it sees from its vantage point, outside the house and high, high above.In this tranquil, evocative picture book, text and pictures illuminate interior and exterior nighttime scenes, showing us what the moon might see-and say, if it could talk.  And If the Moon Could Talk is the winner of the 1998 Boston Globe - Horn Book Award for Picture Books.

Rain Play


Cynthia Cotten - 2008
    But the children love romping in the rain, until—BOOM! This joyous, rhyming poem captures the many delights of a rainy day.

Book!


Kristine O'Connell George - 2001
    . . but always to enjoy. A small child discovers their magic for the very first time in this exuberant ode to book appreciation by award-winning poet Kristine O’Connell George. Brightly colored illustrations are a perfect match for the spare, rhyming text, and thick pages with rounded corners make this a special first “real” book for baby.

Baby Dance


Ann Taylor - 1998
    Up to the ceiling, down to the ground, backward and forward, round and round ... All babies love to be lifted, twirled and held in loving arms. Now a rhythmic poem by nineteenth century poet Anne Taylor makes a delightful board book perfect for baby and parent to share. Marjorie van Heerden has captured the energy and joy of this playful text in vivd pastel illustrations full of the soft, gentle motion of dance. For babies who are responding to music and movement, here's a playful poem that has father and child dancing lovingly across the pages.

Even Superheroes Have to Sleep


Sara Crow - 2015
    The book captivates children with vivid illustrations of why their favorite heroes (doctors, princesses, cowboys, etc.) all need to sleep. It is written for two to five year olds.

Splish, Splash, Spring


Jan Carr - 2001
    Full-color illustrations.