Hap-Pea All Year


Keith Baker - 2016
    Now, they're back with all of their signature jaunty and joyful energy to take young readers through the calendar. With bouncy rhyming text and playful pea-packed illustrations, celebrating the months, the seasons, and holidays has never been so fun!

Worms for Lunch?


Leonid Gore - 2011
    Not the mouse who likes cheese. Not the little girl, who loves spaghetti and ice cream! Not the cow, nor the bee, nor the monkey.... But when a fish reveals what he most desires for lunch--wiggly, wiggly worms--our little worm goes quickly on his way.... In this funny, lighthearted romp that celebrates indivudal taste, young readers will relish guessing what each different animal calls lunch. And they'll be hungry to read this one again!

Straw


Amy Krouse Rosenthal - 2020
    But when his speedy streak gets the best of him, it takes a friend to show Straw how to drink in the amazing world around him.A companion to Spoon and Chopsticks, this delightful story celebrates the joys of taking it slow.

Mustache Baby


Bridget Heos - 2013
    They are reassured when he nobly saves the day in imaginary-play sessions as a cowboy or cop and his mustache looks good-guy great. But as time passes, their worst fears are confirmed when little Billy’s mustache starts to curl up at the ends in a suspiciously villainous fashion. Sure enough, “Billy’s disreputable mustache led him into a life of dreadful crime.” Plenty of tongue-in-cheek humor and cartoonish illustrations make this the perfect baby-shower gift for a mustachioed father-to-be.

The Watermelon Seed


Greg Pizzoli - 2013
    What will he do when his greatest fear is realized? Will vines sprout out his ears? Will his skin turn pink? This crocodile has a wild imagination that kids will love. With bold color and beautiful sense of design, Greg Pizzoli's picture book debut takes this familiar childhood worry and gives us a true gem in the vein of I Want My Hat Back and Not a Box.

Everyone Loves Bacon


Kelly DiPucchio - 2014
    Lettuce loves Bacon. Waffle loves Bacon. Bacon is sizzling with popularity. And pretty much everyone thinks he is the best.That is-until Bacon's fame goes to his head. He's so busy soaking up the attention, that he soon forgets the important things in life, like friendship and family. How will it all pan out for our dashing, delicious hero?

I Hear a Pickle: and Smell, See, Touch, & Taste It, Too!


Rachel Isadora - 2016
    Hearing, smelling, seeing, touching, tasting--our five senses allow us to experience the world in so many ways! With our ears we hear the birds sing; with our nose we smell the stinky cheese; with our eyes we see the moon and stars (and sometimes glasses help us see even better!); with our skin we feel the rain (and learn not to touch the hot stove!); and with our tongue we can taste our favorite foods.

I Am Otter


Sam Garton - 2014
    Here's what Otter has to say about her book: "Hi! I am Otter, and this is a book about me and my best friends, Otter Keeper and Teddy. And it's about the fun and messy (and little bit scary) adventure we had one day when Otter Keeper was at work. I hope you like the story! (And if you don't, it's probably Teddy's fault.)"Otter's utterly winning voice and Sam Garton's classic yet fresh artwork combine to create a truly hilarious and unforgettable friendship story.

Avocado Asks: What Am I?


Momoko Abe - 2020
    Avocado is feeling just fine in the fruit and veg aisle at the supermarket - until a young customer asks a difficult question: "Is an avocado a fruit or a vegetable?" Avocado doesn't know the answer either - and the question won't seem to go away!A brilliantly funny book about identity and being confident in your own skin - featuring the world's most popular superfood!

Orion and the Dark


Emma Yarlett - 2014
    So one night the Dark decides to take Orion on an adventure.

Happy Birthday, Cupcake!


Terry Border - 2015
    Just as Cupcake is ready to crumble, Blueberry Muffin has one last idea that just might save the day.  With laugh-out-loud visual gags (like a band made up of beans--the musical fruit, of course), this book is sure to put a birthday smile on any kid's face (and on adult faces as well).Praise for Happy Birthday, Cupcake!:"As in his earlier picture book, Border's characters are skillfully crafted food items with basic wire limbs arranged in simple landscapes....Preschoolers will be delighted with the visual mayhem."--Kirkus Reviews Praise for Peanut Butter & Cupcake: "Border’s witty food comedy will lure children who are hungry for clever visual entertainment."--Publishers Weekly "[Z]any creative photographs. [A] read-aloud hit."--School Library Journal

Max Explains Everything: Grocery Store Expert


Stacy McAnulty - 2018
    The. Time. Even when they run out of little things . . . like toilet paper. So he's pretty much an expert. Whether it's choosing the right breakfast cereal or surviving the obstacle course that is the produce section, Max is here to help. Having trouble talking mom into finally getting that puppy she promised? Picking up a bag of dog food might just be the push she needs! And always remember to keep your eyes on the prize--the checkout lane is your last chance to grab the real essentials. Candy! Full of humor and "helpful" tips, Max Explains Everything: Grocery Store Expert is the first in a delightful new picture book series starring kid-expert Max!"The single greatest breakdown of grocery store shopping you'll find." --Betsy Bird, A Fuse #8 Production * "A fun romp around the grocery store that kids will relate to and a wonderful read-aloud." -- Kirkus Reviews , starred review

Sheep Out to Eat


Nancy E. Shaw - 1992
    The sheep are back, and this time they're hungry, venturing into a tea shop for even more rollicking fun and, of course, disasters.

Lionheart


Richard Collingridge - 2016
    Is it a monster? He doesn't wait to find out and sets off running through the streets, over the hills, through the forest, and into the fields until he finds himself in a magical jungle. With the help of his stuffed lion Lionheart, Richard finds the courage he needs to face his fears.

Don't Push the Button!


Bill Cotter - 2013
    Who knows what would happen?Okay, quick. No one is looking... push the button.Uh, oh.