Book picks similar to
Meg and the Pirate by David Walser


picture-books
childrens
pirates
storytime

Pirate Jack Gets Dressed


Nancy Raines Day - 2018
    He’ll need every color of the rainbow to make his outfit complete—from his itchy gray long johns and his toasty pink socks to his bright red sash and his cozy purple coat. And he won’t be forgettin’ his black eye patch and trusty brown peg leg, either!But just as he’s about to step outside, he realizes he’s still missing one color: green! Thank goodness a certain feathered friend is ready to jump from her swing and onto his shoulder to complete his colorful look. Squawk!

Charlotte Jane Battles Bedtime


Myra Wolfe - 2011
    There’s absolutely no room in her day for bedtime. But can Charlotte Jane refuse to snooze and still be her hearty pirate self?

Ten Little Pirates


Mike Brownlow - 2013
    But what will the ten little pirates do when they meet a hurricane . . . and a giant squid . . . and a HUNGRY SHARK?This fun-filled rhyming story, which incorporates counting backwards from ten to one, is great to share with young children who are learning about numbers. The colourful, humourous illustrations feature objects to spot and count on every page. With a bouncy, rhythmic text and lots of great sound words, this piratical adventure is perfect for sharing again and again.

That's Not My Pirate...


Fiona Watt - 2007
    The bright pictures, with their patches of different textures, are designed to develop sensory and language awareness. Babies and toddlers will love turning the pages and touching the feely patches.

Pajama Pirates


Andrew Kramer - 2009
    . .Come bedtime, the pajama pirates know just what to do: put on their pj's and let the treasure hunt begin!They set sail on an adventure that's filled with enemy pirate ships, a sword fight, a streak of lightning, and a storm sent by Mama Nature herself. But have no fear—these pajama pirates will not become shark bait!This nighttime voyage full of fun will ultimately lead little ones to the calming tides of bed.

Pirates, Ho!


Sarah L. Thomson - 2008
    But at night, by the light of the moon, they tell each other ghost stories and guess who ends up being scared? Stephen Gilpin's hand-drawn and digitally colored artwork is a bold, perfect match with Sarah L.Thomson's rollicking, rhyming text.

Will Bear Share?


Hilary Leung - 2018
    Bear has so much to give. . . but will she share? Find out in this surprising and memorable storybook all about friendship, compromise, and of course, sharing.A fresh and funny book in a new series of animal question stories by creative talent Hilary Leung that will keep little ones laughing. . . and sharing (when it's appropriate!).

Pirates in Pajamas


Caroline Crowe - 2015
    Beautifully illustrated by Tom Knight, this book is packed full of piratey humour, jazzy jim-jams and a cosy-dozy ending. Bedtimes will never be boring again with this fantastic first picture book from Caroline Crowe. Perfect for fans of Aliens Love Underpants and The Pirate Cruncher. 
Have you ever wondered whether pirates wear pajamas when it’s time to say goodnight? Well leap aboard the Leaky Parrot to find out! Captain Grotbeard and his crew love nothing better than bubble baths, jim-jams and pillow fights! So if you want to be a pirate you don’t need a patch or sword – just grab your best pajamas and a bed to climb aboard.

How Do Dinosaurs Say Happy Birthday?


Jane Yolen - 2011
    All little dinosaurs love to get presents, and this new board book will be an immediate favorite. From birthday hats to Ceratosaurus-sized cakes, America's young readers will laugh out loud as the celebration moves from "bad" birthday behavior to just the right amount of silliness and sharing. Bestselling duo Jane Yolen and Mark Teague have created the perfect introduction to birthday parties, with the same beloved humor and warmth of all their previous bestselling "How Do Dinosaurs" books. Here's a wonderful way to say "Happy Birthday!" to any dinosaur...young or old!

Pirates and Princesses


Jill Kargman - 2011
    But when they get to kindergarten, they discover that the girls play with the girls, and the boys with the boys; suddenly Ivy and Fletch find themselves apart on the playground, on the Princess Team and the Pirate Team. It isn't until Fletch steps in to rescue Princess Ivy from pirate capture that they realize they miss playing together. Can they desegregate their playground?This lighthearted story of cooperation and open-mindedness will resonate with kids, parents, and teachers everywhere.

Peekaboo!


Taro Gomi - 1993
    And young readers will squeal in surprise to find that when this board book is opened, the eye-sized die-cuts allow each spread to become a mask! Kids will have a blast posing as a fly-eating frog or a mouse-chasing cat. Sure to be a hit during both story time and playtime!

Rufus Goes to Sea


Kim T. Griswell - 2015
    It's the pirate life for him, matey. But Captain Wibblyshins says NO PIGS ON PIRATE SHIPS! After all, pigs get tangled in the rat lines, they picnic in the crow's nest, and worst of all, they even wipe their chins with the Jolly Roger. Can Rufus convince the Captain that he's no landlubber swine? And could his ticket to piratehood be . . . reading?  Kids will love seeing Rufus conquer new worlds in this delightful follow-up to the popular Rufus Goes to School.

The Night Before the Tooth Fairy


Natasha Wing - 2003
    Moore's classic poem is a perfect addition to the best-selling series. Illustrated by Johansen Newman.

Curious George Dinosaur Tracks (CGTV Reader)


H.A. Rey - 2011
    While looking for the fawn his friend Bill spotted, he finds an unusual set of tracks. George thinks he has discovered dinosaur footprints—which would make the perfect addition to his collection! In hopes of getting a photo, he attempts to lure the dinosaur with food, but quickly remembers that some dinosaurs are not friendly. Eventually George discovers the real culprit behind the tracks and it’s not what he expects!

The Noisy Counting Book


Susan Schade - 1987
    Toddlers love to count along and imitate the animals as they count. The big frog's trademark GA-DUNK becomes more fun to say with every page.Thanks to this new board book edition, parents, teachers, and librarians who have searched in vain for an affordable used copy will finally be able to share this gem with a whole new generation of GA-DUNKing toddlers at story time.