Book picks similar to
Dirt Boy by Erik Jon Slangerup


picture-books
childrens
family
storytime

If Winter Comes, Tell It I'm Not Here


Simona Ciraolo - 2020
    One little boy’s older sister tells him he’d better make the most of it, because summer is going to end soon. When winter comes, she assures him, it will be cold and dark, and the icy rain will turn to snow. They’ll be stuck on the sofa for days and won’t even dream of eating ice cream…. Simona Ciraolo’s expressive illustrations belie the bleak forecast with images of glowing autumn leaves, cozy couch snuggles, wintry play, and sweet desserts. A celebration of the changing of the seasons, this inviting tale shows how much fun can be found around every sunny—or snowy—corner.

Lazy Little Loafers


Susan Orlean - 2008
    They’ve got it made.In this charming, droll story, a world-weary older sister ponders the question, why don’t more babies work? Her answers, hilariously tinged with resentment, offer up a wickedly accurate picture of just how great babies have it. Known for her keen and witty observations of various subcultures, Susan Orlean here turns her gaze on babies. The resulting picture book is tongue-in-cheek fun for older siblings and anyone looking for a lazy, praise-filled day.

Stella, Star of the Sea


Marie-Louise Gay - 1999
    Stella has been to the sea before and knows all its secrets, but Sam has many questions. Does a catfish purr? Does a seahorse gallop? Stella has an answer for them all. The only thing she isn't sure of, and neither is the reader, is whether Sam will ever come into the water.Exquisite watercolors enliven this perfect summer story, while the gently humorous text captures the sometimes fun, sometimes trying relationship between an older sister and her baby brother.

Would I Ever Lie to You?


Caralyn Buehner - 2007
    But not all of his stories are false: He was right about your aunt Mary not having teeth; and Dad agreed with him that, yes, your mom does have eyes in the back of her head! So when Ed tells you that your dessert—the piece of pie you’ve been looking forward to all meal long—is full of poison, what should you do? In this spirited, silly book, the little kid finally gets to turn the tables on the big bully. And revenge is sweet as pie!

D.W. All Wet


Marc Brown - 1988
    bosses her brother Arthur into carrying her on his shoulders at the beach because she maintains that she hates the water, until she gets a big wet surprise.

Turtle Walk


Matt Phelan - 2020
    Nice and slow. Here we go! Explore all four seasons with this charming—and patient!—turtle family.Award-winning author-artist Matt Phelan guides the youngest readers from the first blooms of spring and the scorching sun of summer to the crisp leaves of fall and fat snowflakes of winter. Fans of Anna Dewdney and Tad Hills will want to go on this journey again and again.Spring blooms, and a turtle family is on the move. Slow and steady, they travel up, up, up, the gentle hill through all four seasons. Where are they going? To the top of the sledding hill, of course! But how will they get back down the hill to a well-deserved winter’s rest?Matt Phelan’s simple, rhythmic text is filled with repetition that shines in read-alouds, and his soft, colorful watercolor artwork bring the seasons to vivid life. The joyful journey and gentle, rewarding surprise make Turtle Walk a timeless choice for every home and classroom.

The Grandma Book


Todd Parr - 2006
    Featuring Todd Parr's signature colorful and kid-friendly illustrations, The Grandma Book portrays the different ways grandmothers show their grandchildren love, from offering advice and babysitting to making things and giving lots of kisses.

Bear Is Not Tired


Ciara Gavin - 2016
    . . .   Bear and his duck family do everything together. That is, until winter arrives. Bear is supposed to hibernate this time of year, but he doesn’t want to miss out on any of the fun. But can Bear really stay awake all winter long? Gentle humor and endearing illustrations bring a delightful twist to a bedtime routine that children and their parents will easily recognize.

Tony Baloney


Pam Muñoz Ryan - 2011
    He loves fish tacos, Little Green Walrus Guys, his stuffed animal, Dandelion, and anything with wheels. He does not love trouble . . . but trouble loves him. Sometimes, when he is tired of Bossy Big Sister Baloney and exasperated with the Bothersome Babies Baloney, Dandelion behaves badly. And then, Tony must say he is sorry, which is not always easy for him.Whether you are a mischievous middle, a bossy biggest, or a bothersome baby, you are sure to root for Tony Baloney and find yourself, or someone you love, in the Baloney family.

Ivy Loves To Give


Freya Blackwood - 2009
    (The dog doesn't need glasses! The cat doesn't need a pacifier!)And Ivy finds that sometimes it's hard to give BACK something you've borrowed and fallen in love with.But in the end, everyone is matched up with the right present, Ivy gets to keep the thing she likes best, and gives her sister the best gift of all: a big, warm hug!

My Grandpa's Chair


Jiyeon Pak - 2017
    But no matter what kind of chair he tries, he can never seem to find the right one. Some chairs are too small; others are too soft. Some are too hard, while others are too fancy. Just when Grandfather thinks he'll never find the right chair, Julie takes him to a park. And there, Grandfather finally finds the perfect seat . . . and discovers that it's not about the chair you sit in, it's about who is sitting next to you.

Absolutely One Thing (Charlie and Lola)


Lauren Child - 2015
    "One thing to share?" Lola asks. No, it’s one thing each, explains Charlie, or two actual things between two. Lola is nine minutes late getting ready, and on the way, there are ladybugs and birds to count and maybe a squillion leaves on a tree. At the store, Lola says she’ll choose three things, or possibly two. "How about no things?" asks Mom. With Lola hilariously bending everyday numbers to her will, the math goes down easy in this charming picture book loaded with visual appeal.

Allie All Along


Sarah Lynne Reul - 2018
    . .furious, fuming, frustrated . . .” Have you ever felt mad enough to stomp, smash, and crash? Allie has! Meet one angry little girl and see how she calms down, bit by bit—with the help of her understanding big brother. Poor Allie! She’s in a rage, throwing a tantrum, and having a fit! Her emotions have built and built and now they just burst. Is there a sweet little girl hiding somewhere under all the angry layers? And can her big brother find a way to make things all right again? In the tradition of When Sophie Gets Angry—Really, Really Angry and Sometimes I’m Bombaloo, Allie All Along explores simple ways kids can center themselves in the face of overwhelming emotions. The illustrations’ varying hues and vibrant colors capture the powerful feelings that young children can’t always express in words.

My Little Fox


Rick Chrustowski - 2017
    So Mama promises to stay by his side as they tumble though Little Fox’s first year of life, a year spent splashing in puddles, trying new foods, leaping in leaves, and snuggling in snow. And then, before long, Little Fox is all grown up. But is he ready to go off on his own? With sweet rhyming text and vibrant illustrations, Rick Chrustowski tells a tender story of parent-child love and how wonderful—and wistful—it feels when a little one leaves the nest.

Up, Up, Up, Down!


Kimberly Gee - 2019
     From his first demand to be picked up and then immediately put down, opposites pop up all day long for this energetic boy. Breakfast is no, no, no, yes! At the sandbox, it's make, make, make, break! And jumping into the pool goes from can't, can't, can't, to can!Kimberly Gee's expressive illustrations emphasize the loving connection between a boy and his father in this clever concept book about everyday highs and lows that is sure to entertain little (and big!) members of the family.