A Beetle Is Shy


Dianna Hutts Aston - 2016
    From flea beetles to bombardier beetles, an incredible variety of these beloved bugs are showcased here in all their splendor. Poetic in voice and elegant in design, this carefully researched and visually striking book is perfect for sparking children's imaginations in both classroom reading circles and home libraries.

The Wonder Garden


Jenny Broom - 2015
    Trek through the Amazon Rainforest, travel to the Chihuahuan Desert, dive in the Great Barrier Reef, delve deep into the Black Forest and stand on the roof of the world - the Himalayan Mountains - to see nature at its wildest. Breathtaking, engraved illustrations bring to life Earth's spectacular Wonder Garden.

The Night Flower


Lara Hawthorne - 2018
    The night flower is about to bloom. This celebration transforms the quiet desert for just a short few hours into a riot of colour and sound, as mammals and insects congregate from miles away to take part in this miracle of nature. From pollinating fruit bats to burrowing owls, howling mice and reptilian monsters, explore the unusual wildlife the desert has to offer in this beautiful non-fiction picture book.

A Web


Isabelle Simler - 2013
    Patient and observant, she takes in all of the wonders that make up her landscape from ferns and feathers, to bugs and butterflies. Readers will linger over the luscious and intricate illustrations soaking up all of the delicate details created by author and illustrator Isabelle Simler.

Welcome to the Neighborwood


Shawn Sheehy - 2015
    These are just two of the many animals who live side by side, sharing the resources they need to construct homes, traps, or places to store food. From award-winning artist Shawn Sheehy comes an up-close look at the architectural masterpieces of the animal world, featuring an array of beautiful, lifelike pop-ups originally crafted with handmade paper. The earthy exploration culminates in a breathtaking final spread showing all the neighborwood creatures together.

Migration: Incredible Animal Journeys


Mike Unwin - 2018
    Travel around the globe with some of the world's most incredible animals and discover their unique migration stories. Follow the emperor penguin through snow, ice and bitter temperatures; watch as the great white shark swims 10,000 km in search of seals; track huge herds of elephants, on their yearly hunt for water and be amazed at the millions of red crabs, migrating across Christmas Island.With stunning colour illustrations, uncover the astonishing migrations of 20 creatures, in this truly inspiring narrative. Written by Mike Unwin, a UK Travel Writer of the Year, and illustrated by Jenni Desmond, winner of the New York Times Best Illustrated Children's Book, prepare yourself for a journey like no other.

Caterpillars and Butterflies


Stephanie Turnbull - 2003
    The books have two reading levels, with a simple sentence on each page for beginners, and more complex information for more confident readers.

Ice Bear: In the Steps of the Polar Bear


Nicola Davies - 2005
    Powerful hunter, tireless swimmer, tender mother, gentle playmate — she is superbly adapted for surviving, even thriving, in this harsh and icy climate. Written in poetic language interspersed with fascinating facts, Nicola Davies' breathtaking tale of this massive, stark white animal is brought to life in striking paintings by Gary Blythe. Just as the Inuit people have watched and learned from this amazing creature for generations, readers are invited to witness the majesty of Ice Bear.

Most of the Better Natural Things in the World


Dave Eggers - 2019
    But why? Where is she going? With just one word per page, in lush, color-rich landscapes, we learn about the features that make up our world: an archipelago, a dune, an isthmus, a lagoon. Across them all, the tiger roams. An enigmatic investigation of our world's most beautiful places from bestselling author Dave Eggers, beautifully illustrated by debut artist Angel Chang.• Each page introduces young readers to a different geographic element—from archipelagos to lagoons to gorges• Universal story of a mother's arduous journey back to her family• Quirky and enigmatic story with hipster appealFans of Symphony City, Goodbye Summer, Hello Autumn, Curiousitree, and Natural Wonders of the World will love this book. This book is perfect for:• Parents and grandparents• Teachers• Fans of Dave Eggers or McSweeney's• Fans of wildlife or animal lovers• Art book lovers

Nerdy Babies: Ocean


Emmy Kastner - 2019
    Check out animals, plants, and fish that live in the ocean. Plus, learn about the unique ecosystem in this simple text written in question and answer format. With bright artwork by Emmy Kastner, this will be a book that the very littlest nerds will want to return to again and again. Stay curious. There’s more to learn about everything!

Where Is the Great Barrier Reef?


Nico Medina - 2016
    The Great Barrier Reef, off the coast of Australia, is the world's largest coral reef system. Stretching more than 1,400 miles, it provides a home to a wide diversity of creatures. Designated a World Heritage Site, the reef is suffering from the effects of climate change but this fascinating book shows this spectacular part of our planet.

Safari


Gail Tuchman - 2010
    The African light gives the sky colors seen nowhere else on Earth. Soon, an amazing array of wild animals are yawning, screeching, and growling to life. Meet the elephants, lions, giraffes, zebras, hippos, and the laughing hyenas of the wilderness and find out who’s friends with whom and why!National Geographic supports K-12 educators with ELA Common Core Resources.Visit www.natgeoed.org/commoncore for more information.

A Strange Place to Call Home: The World's Most Dangerous Habitats & the Animals That Call Them Home


Marilyn Singer - 2012
    In the endless black of the deepest caves, blind fish find their way. Even in the frozen hearts of glaciers, ice worms by the billion flourish. In this fascinating look at fourteen animals who defy the odds by thriving in Earth's most dangerous places, renowned poet Marilyn Singer and celebrated artist Ed Young show that of all the miracles of life, it is life's persistence that astounds the most.

Trout Are Made of Trees


April Pulley Sayre - 2008
    How can a leaf become a fish? Join two young children and their dads to find out, as they observe life in and around a stream.Energetic collage art and simple, lyrical text depict the ways plants and animals are connected in the food web.Back matter provides information about the trout life cycle as well as conservation efforts that kids can do themselves.It's a natural choice for Earth Day.

Volcanoes and Earthquakes


Susanna van Rose - 1960
    Discover why the sands of Hawaii are black, how volcanoes affect the ozone layer, what makes magma explode, what a pyrolcastic flow is, and much, much more.