Book picks similar to
The Lost Bones by Kendra Elliot


romantic-suspense
mystery-thriller
suspense
thriller

Elmore Leonard Classic 3-Book Collection: Get Shorty, Tishomingo Blues, Killshot


Elmore Leonard - 2012
    Marshal Raylan Givens, the captivating hero of the hit FX series Justified. Now three of Leonard’s best novels—Get Shorty, Tishomingo Blues, and Killshot—are together in one classic ebook collection.

Chasing Shadows (Drew Patrick)


Jason Richards - 2018
     When Tina Ross and her friends witness a brutal murder they make a pact to keep what they saw to themselves. The teens think silence equals safety. But the killers have another idea. Concerned mother Bonnie Ross hires private investigator Drew Patrick to find out where her daughter is sneaking off to at night. What appears to be a simple case of a rebellious teen leads to some of Boston's darkest corners. Drew quickly finds himself in the middle of a murder investigation and needing to protect Tina. But when she and her friends go missing, it is a race against the clock to save them from murderous thugs. Chasing Shadows is a prequel novella to the Private Detective Drew Patrick series of suspenseful crime thriller novels. Includes a preview of Shattered, the first novel in the series. Read Chasing Shadows today and begin the pulse-pounding adventure. If you enjoy books by Robert B. Parker, Robert Crais, and James Patterson, then you will enjoy this new detective crime thriller series by Jason Richards.

Dead in the Water


Peter Tickler - 2015
    He doesn't tell the police that he knows who it is, and when he is hired to investigate the dead man, matters get very complicated. Mullen is used to tracking down cheating husbands, not ruthless killers. The victim turns out to have been playing a complex game of deception with more than one woman. As Mullen gets closer to tracking down the killer, he finds himself in grave danger. Unless he can crack the case, Detective Inspector Dorkin may pin the crime on him, or those with secrets to hide may put him out of circulation. Mullen fights for his life as this fast-moving mystery reaches its stunning conclusion. DEAD IN THE WATER is the first in a new series of detective thrillers featuring Doug Mullen - ex-army, ex-runaway, struggling human being - and recently set up as a private detective, with his only work coming from tracking down cheating husbands.

Poison


Jacqui Rose - 2020
    Perfect for fans of Kimberley Chambers’ Queenie and Martina Cole. THERE ARE SOME PEOPLE YOU SHOULD NEVER CROSS In a life of crime, loyalty means everything – even if you don’t always see eye to eye. But when Vaughn Sadler speaks up to get Franny Doyle sent down, he’s broken every rule in the book to win checkmate. AND OTHERS YOU SHOULDN’T UNDERESTIMATE… Holed up in prison, Franny has more than one score to settle – but she’s starting with Vaughn. Because you don’t grass on your own, no matter what. And though she may be behind bars, she will get revenge – whatever the cost. Before, there was just bad blood running through her veins. But now, there is poison…

Wormwood (Rob Soliz and Frank Pierce, #1)


Larry Enmon - 2017
    As the mayor's daughter, her kidnapping triggers mounting political pressure and forces the Chief of Police to put two senior detectives on the case. Rob Soliz and Frank Pierce have done the impossible in the past, but their methods are unconventional.The only evidence at the scene is a Bible found in the girl's car and soon Frank and Rob find themselves involved in a disturbing investigation shrouded by Bible prophecy, doomsday cults, and murder.Is Katrina still alive? And what exactly is Wormwood?As the trail leads them into the woods of rural East Texas, Frank must deal with his lingering religious doubts and solve the case. His worst fears will be realised when he must discover the ugly truth about Wormwood. But he and Rob will have to get out alive to tell the story…

Rough Draft


James W. Hall - 2000
    Hall has been one of the most highly respected thriller writers around. With last year's Body Language, Hall garnered acclaim from authors like James Patterson and Michael Connelly, and from reviewers in publications like People and The New York Times. Now, Hall serves up Rough Draft, which is at once both his most personal and his most gripping book to date.A few years ago, while browsing in a used bookstore, Hall found a copy of one of his early novels full of strange marginal notes and underlined passages and other cryptic messages. Fascinated by these weird hieroglyphics and unable to get them out of his mind, he used this as the basis for Rough Draft, a novel about a woman crime novelist who stumbles across a similar book and finds in those marginal notes what seems to be a direct message from the killer of her parents.Hannah Keller's struggle to find her parents' killer, and at the same time protect her son, takes the reader on an extraordinary ride through James Hall's best thriller to date.

Not Guilty


Patricia MacDonald - 2002
    Her late husband's childhood friend, Mark Weaver, helps Keely settle Richard's affairs and sweeps her into a whirlwind romance -- and eventually a comfortable suburban lifestyle that includes marriage and a beautiful baby girl. The darkness that clouded Keely's past has all but vanished. Yet Dylan, now a teenager, remains distant, brooding and resentful of his stepfather and baby sister, Abby. Then history repeats itself, and her life is once again thrown into chaos. But Keely's nightmare is just beginning?for the authorities are looking for a murderer, and they already have a prime suspect: Dylan.Refusing to believe her son is a killer, Keely vows to clear his name. But the prosecutor has a personal stake in seeing Dylan convicted -- and her pleas for help from the police fall on deaf ears. To save her son, Keely must rely on herself. But she is far from alone; someone is watching her every move. When her investigation threatens to uncover a conspiracy of secrets and corruption, she is suddenly plunged into the path of danger -- and into the sights of a ruthless killer who will stop at nothing to ensure the truth stays buried forever....Seamlessly weaving a psychological portrait of the bond between a mother and son with the breathless intrigue of a murder mystery, "Not Guilty" is a novel that finds Patricia MacDonald at the height of her celebrated powers.

The Violet Hour


Richard Montanari - 1998
    Original. AB. K.

Bad Medicine


Eileen Dreyer - 1995
    Louis Emergency Department. Then a well-connected lawyer is wheeled in, victim of a suspected suicide.One suicide is bad. But when one grows to four in a matter of days, and all the victims are lawyers, the trend stops being an oddity and becomes a real problem.Were these really suicides? Why would successful, hot young lawyers want to kill themselves? Then Molly unearths secrets that powerful people don’t want exposed and the puzzle suddenly becomes a threat. Now she must find killer, or become the next victim.

The Disposables


David Putnam - 2014
    Now he's an ex-con and his life on parole is not going well. He is hassled by the police at every opportunity and to make matters even more difficult, his former partner, Robby Wicks, now a high-ranking detective, bullies him into helping solve a high profile crime - unofficially, of course. Meantime, Bruno's girlfriend, Marie, brings out the good, the real Bruno, and even though they veer totally outside the law, he and Marie dedicate themselves to saving abused children, creating a type of underground railroad for neglected kids at risk, disposable kids. What they must do is perilous they step far outside the law, battling a warped justice system and Bruno's former partner, with his own evil agenda.

American Woman


Robert Pobi - 2013
    The air tastes of electricity—the negative charge of bad things to come—but everyone hopes it’s just the temperature. Then, on the morning homicide detective Alexandra “Hemi” Hemingway finds out she is pregnant, a twisted serial killer makes his debut. And the heat goes up.Not for the faint of heart—American Woman is a relentless ride that takes you through the fractured world of a nascent killer. And you will never feel safe again.

The Divinities: A Crane and Drake Novel


Parker Bilal - 2020
    He sees an opportunity: to solve a high-profile case, and to repair his reputation after a botched undercover operation almost ended his promising career in the Violent Crimes Unit. Assigned to work with the enigmatic forensic psychologist Dr Rayhana Crane, and on the hunt for an elusive killer, Drake’s investigations lead down the dark corridors of the past—to their military service in Iraq and the destruction they witnessed there. With a community poised on the brink of violence and their lives on the line, Crane and Drake must work together to stop the killer before vengeance is unleashed.

The Next Killing


Rebecca Drake - 2007
    Ursula's Preparatory Academy to learn. To achieve. To make both memories and friends. But now, it's where they also come to die.

Hunted


Carla Cassidy - 2016
    Her or Moretti. The time is now. The worst has happened: her mark is on the run. But Special Agent Lara Grant has no clues. No destination. Just fear for those she loves and bone-deep belief that he's coming straight for her. But she knows Moretti …just as he knows her. And when the final clue clicks into place, the hunt is on. Lara will do anything it takes to catch this evil man who has caused the deaths of countless innocent people. With emotions on a knife edge, Lara is running on instinct, on the desperation of unconditional love. With adrenaline pumping, this is it for Lara…flight is not an option; all she can do is fight to the end… Part 8 of 8 in the chilling, high-octane FBI thriller TOUGH JUSTICE from New York Times bestselling author Carla Cassidy and authors Tyler Anne Snell, Carol Ericson and Gail Barrett. On Carla Cassidy: "Cassidy delivers with a one-two punch of intriguing suspense and tantalizing romance." —RT Book Reviews on Scene of the Crime: Baton Rouge

Fortune


Erica Spindler - 1997
    A brother's dark obsession... And one woman's desperate fight for survival... Something dark and dangerous had long shadowed Skye Dearborn's life. She had seen the fear of it in her mother's eyes. It was there, locked in her memories of blood spilling across a gleaming floor. In the sound of her own screams. And in the terror she'd felt the night her mother disappeared. Then fortune smiled on Skye. With help she was able to put the horror behind her and look to the future.But now that same fortune is leading her into the arms of danger--and back into the nightmare of her past. For the evil that has haunted her dreams has a human form--a man obsessed with Skye since her birth. A man who alone knows who Skye Dearborn really is.