Witness


Mandasue Heller - 2020
    When they move into an illegally sub-let council flat in Manchester’s rough Lansdowne Estate, Holly finally feels settled for the first time in her life – even if she is forbidden to go out, or even open the front door to callers when her mum’s at work due to fear of eviction. Increasingly cut off from friends at school, she soon feels isolated and alone in the world.But Holly is about to make a new friend in Suzie - the glamorous woman who lives directly across the road who Holly witnesses being beaten up by her violent boyfriend. When it happens a second time, it’s Holly that Suzie turns to for help. A bond is quickly formed between the pair, but there are things about Suzie that don’t quite add up and Holly begins to suspect that there is more to this woman than meets the eye. Then Holly makes a shocking discovery about her past which turns her entire world upside down, and she no longer knows who she can trust . . .

The Courier


Gordon J. Campbell - 2019
    They sized him up as someone with potential for strategic deployment, and more importantly, he's under the radar. Gregg's exploits start with what he thinks is a one-off assignment as a courier, and the straightforward task spirals out of control. He's forced to rise to the occasion and use every resource available to survive. Even his family is jeopardized which forces him to return to Japan to settle scores.The Courier is one man’s struggle to fight for survival in a world that he's not been trained for and where violence and retribution are the names of the game.

Faith


Peter James - 2000
    When his wife falls ill, she turns her back on conventional medicine and her arid marriage and seeks help from a charismatic therapist who promises more than medical salvation. But if Ransom can't have his wife, then no man can.

Divine Poison


A.B. Morgan - 2018
    But how are they connected? And why?When it becomes obvious that she’s unwittingly stepped into a trap set for someone else, Monica’s career, her own sanity and her life are placed at risk. But where can she turn to for help?AB Morgan is the author of the acclaimed psychological thriller A Justifiable Madness. Divine Poison will appeal to fans of authors like LJ Ross, Joy Ellis, Faith Martin and Ed James

For the Sake of a Child


Stevie Turner - 2015
    However, her joy becomes tarnished by an accidental find whilst cleaning, leading her to suspect that all is not as it should be on the managerial corridor. Delving deeper, she is shocked to uncover corruption and a secret paedophile network that has remained hidden for years, involving the very people she has come to know and trust. Unable to live with her conscience any more, she decides that she cannot keep quiet and that she must find a way of helping all the children involved. However, by trying to help the children she discovers that she has unwittingly put her entire family at risk.....

Layers of Lies


Diane M. Dickson - 2015
     She calls everybody, even his boss. He has gone without a trace. Suspicious and deeply worried she goes out looking for him. But the more she searches, the more she discovers a dark underworld of lies, crime and murder she had no idea really existed…

Memphis Ribs


Gerald Duff - 1999
    It's up to homicide detective J.W. Ragsdale to solve these seemingly unconnected crimes without scaring away the tourists who are arriving in droves. That's not going to be easy. Ragsdale's investigation pits him against a crack-dealing gang in the midst of a bloody drug war, a Memphis BBQ king struggling to hold on to his crumbling empire, a shotgun-wielding assassin, an East Coast mobster with a taste for BBQ and the blues, and the newly crowned Maid of Cotton, who will do anything to keep her tiara.

She's Not There / Trespass / Girl Undone


Marla Madison - 2016
     The series opener, SHE’S NOT THERE, introduces TJ Peacock, a Milwaukee-based PI, a former cop struggling to make it in her own business. Her life intersects with that of Lisa Rayburn, a clinical psychologist who has just found evidence that abused women are going missing in the Milwaukee area. When the police inform Lisa that without hard evidence, they cannot open an investigation, she joins TJ on a mission to reveal foul play at work in the disappearances. TJ and Lisa put their lives on the line as they attempt to unearth a devious serial killer. In the next two books of the series, TRESPASS and GIRL UNDONE, TJ and Lisa maintain their friendship and use their skills to uncover a cold case from the past and a deadly plot by a serial killer against a crime blogger.

All in Her Head


Nikki Smith - 2020
    She is convinced that her ex-husband Jack is following her. She is certain she recognizes the strange woman who keeps approaching her in the canteen.She knows she has a good reason to be afraid. She just can't remember why.Then the mention of one name turns her life upside down.Alison feels like she's losing her mind . . . but it could just lead her to the truth.

Blanket of Blood


Eileen Wharton - 2016
     A twisted serial killer is targeting pregnant teenage girls. DI Blood races against the clock to stop the most chilling murderer he’s ever hunted. His private life meanwhile threatens to distract him and derail his investigation. Any mistake, any hesitation on his side, could cost another innocent life... Blanket of Blood is the first in the Gary Blood crime series. A serial-killer thriller which races along. Chilling and thrilling from the first to the last page.

Takedown


Stephen Leather - 2016
    It's up to Lex to assemble a crack team and get to the soldier before he carries out what could be a massive terrorist attack. But Charlotte might require Lex's help with a more personal problem too . . .As ex-MI5, Charlotte holds information on thousands of the agency's dirty operations, and keeps a store of those secrets in three flash drives hidden in separate safety deposit vaults. Now someone is taking extraordinary measures to recover the secrets through Hatton Garden-style robberies. So far two vaults have been raided, and two flash drives have gone. If the third is stolen, Charlotte's life will be in jeopardy. While it's down to Lex to prevent a potential terrorist attack on British soil, Charlotte must work out who is after her and what they want.

Soft Target


Conrad Jones - 2008
    Crime thriller writing that will have you chewing your fingers as you read! ; Review Number 1 International Crime Thriller Soft Target No.6 Amazon bestseller lists Soft Target II No.1 Thriller war Soft Target III No.3 Thriller war Soft Target 4 No.6 Amazon bestseller lists Soft Target is the first book in a series of thrillers that follow the hunt for a nefarious killer. The book begins in famous US tourist destinations where suicide bombers cause carnage, before attacking the United Kingdom. Soft Target III No.3 Thriller war Multi-million selling author STEPHEN LEATHER reviewed this book in the USA and described it as; `A CORKING STORY THAT KEPT ME HOOKED FROM START TO FINISH.` STEPHEN LEATHER`S REVIEW 5.0 out of 5 stars Great fast-moving thriller, January 5, 2011 By Stephen Leather - See all my reviews (REAL NAME) This review is from: Soft Target (Soft Target Series) (Kindle Edition) This was one of the first Kindle books that I read, and it's a corker, up to the standards of Andy McNab and Chris Ryan. Fast-paced, tight prose, it kept me hooked from start to finish. I'll definitely be reading more from this author. Author and biographer, AUTHOR GUIDES How to write a novel in 90 days 100 Ways to publish your own book and make it a bestseller

The Darkness Within


Lisa Stone - 2017
    Their once loving son is slowly being replaced by a violent man whose mood swings leave them terrified – but is it their fault?Jacob’s girlfriend, Rosie, is convinced the man she loves is suffering from stress. But when his moods turn on her, she begins to doubt herself – and she can only hide the bruises for so long.When a terrible crime is committed, Jacob’s family are forced to confront their darkest fears. Has the boy they raised become a monster? Or is someone else to blame?

And Still, She Wept


T.C. Barnes - 2011
    After having lost his wife to cancer, he is drawn back from the brink of an emotional abyss by the murder of a young girl who looks just like her. With nothing else to assuage his grief, he throws himself into the case with every ounce of passion still left inside him. But with little evidence to go on, his case quickly grows cold. When another victim is killed in exactly the same manner over five hundred miles away, Reilly realizes that there may be a serial killer at work. Going against the advice of his superiors, he flies to North Carolina to continue his hunt for the sadistic murderer. Reilly knows that his only hope of success is to convince the Sheriff of Camden County that both crimes are connected. To his relief, Claire Stiles immediately recognizes the undeniable similarities between both cases. Fueled by the furious and unrelenting desire to find the killer, they work together day and night. Unexpectedly however, they find themselves growing closer in the process. In order to understand what tenuous link binds the victims together, Claire and Reilly leave no stone unturned in their desperate search for the killer. But when yet another girl is abducted, Claire and Reilly must put their own lives on the line in order to stop the madman, before it's too late.

The Charlie Parker Collection 1


John Connolly - 2013
    He is a man consumed by violence, guilt and the desire for revenge. When his ex-partner asks him to track down a missing girl, Parker embarks on a grim odyssey through the bowels of organised crime to a unique serial killer: The Travelling Man.In DARK HOLLOW, Private detective Charlie Parker embarks on a nerve-shredding manhunt and closes in on his prime suspect. But someone else is tracking them both.Parker's empathy with the powerless victims of crime is growing ever stronger. It makes him a natural choice to investigate the death of Grace Peltier in THE KILLING KIND - a death that appears to be a suicide. Genial killers Angel and Louis join Parker again as he descends into a honeycomb world populated by dark angels and lost souls.In THE WHITE ROAD, a black youth faces the death penalty for rape and murder; his victim, the daughter of one of the wealthiest men in South Carolina. It is a case with its roots in old evil, and old evil is Charlie Parker's speciality. Evil men from his past unite to exact a terrible revenge on the private detective.