Poirot: The Complete Battles of Hastings, Vol. 2


Agatha Christie - 2004
    Captain Arthur Hastings is well-known as Poirot's trusty sidekick, the perfect foil for the great detective and his 'little grey cells'. Yet although Agatha Christie wrote 33 novels about her famous detective, only eight of them actually feature Captain Hastings. Considered by many to be some of the very best Christie stories, the distinctive Hastings novels are distinguished by being recounted in the first person, just as Dr Watson wrote for Holmes. This omnibus volume brings together the last four Poirot and Hastings novels, including Lord Edgware Dies, The ABC Murders, Dumb Witness and, returning Poirot to the scene of his first novel for his very last case, Curtain.

Breaking Bones


Robert White - 2018
    A ruthless criminal gang. A law unto themselves. Detective Jim Hacker has watched The Dogs grow from thuggish youths to psychotic criminals and seems to be the only cop in town with the determination to see justice done. Meanwhile Jamie Strange, a young Royal Marine, finds himself embroiled in the lives of the gang when his girlfriend, Laurie Holland, cuts off their engagement... to be with the most dangerous of The Dogs: Frankie Verdi. Strange knows right from wrong, but when Verdi begins to target Jamie's family, he makes an enemy of a man, more dangerous than even he could imagine. Crisp, slick and often terrifyingly violent, this 1980's crime thriller will appeal to the readers of Ian Rankin, Martina Cole and Stephen Leather.

Avenged


Daniel Judson - 2013
    Betrayed in an attempt to secure proof of the crime, she finds herself alone in an unfamiliar city—mysterious Old Montreal—her prey now the predator, and only five days left to finish the job for which she has sacrificed so much.Already pushed to the limits of her considerable resources, Elena must suddenly recalibrate her mission when her estranged half-brother Miles enters the picture, desperately in need of her protection. But keeping Miles alive may cost Elena her one shot at settling the score. Unless…Elena is quick and Elena is clever, but to honor her father as well as avenge him, she’ll have to do the impossible.This book was initially released in episodes as a Kindle Serial. All episodes are now available for immediate download as a complete book.

Harder They Fall


Solomon Carter - 2018
    MOMENTS LATER HIS LIFE IS CHANGED FOREVER. A BLOODY VENDETTA HAS BEGUN. After a devastating attack, PI business partners and lovers Eva Roberts and Dan Bradley are left picking up the pieces.They must track down a ruthless killer. But Dan’s scars won’t heal easily - and their nemesis may strike at any time.The PIs travel to North Devon to investigate the curious death of a celebrity blogger...  But the trip turns out to be anything but relaxing. Dan’s nightmare tracks him down. There are more victims. Some are in denial – too scared to face the truth. But Dan has no choice. He must face his demons… or die trying. In a truly thrilling conclusion, an infamous murder case is brought back to life and a killer is exposed. But the monster behind the cruel vendetta is waiting in the wings... Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin, Helen Durrant, Joy Ellis and LJ Ross. If you love to read gripping thrillers with flawed characters, a touch of humour and a hint of romance, you’ll love Harder They Fall. THE HARDER THEY FALL SERIES: HARDER THEY FALLTHE STONE GIRLHARVEST OF BLOODLAST MAN STANDINGIf you love page-turning crime novels, noir crime thrillers, heist novels, private detective series or detective crime mysteries then Harder They Fall is the book for you.OTHER SERIES BY SOLOMON CARTERLONG TIME DYING LUCK AND JUDGMENTLONDON CALLINGTHE FINAL TRICKTHE LAST LINETHE DARKEST LIESAND MUCH, MUCH MORE… For more information visit SolomonCarter.net

Margarita Nights


Phyllis Smallman - 2009
    In a small Florida beach town, Sherri Travis is a bartender with attitude and a woman with an inconveniently murdered husband who turns out to be as much trouble to her dead as he was alive. Sifting through the debris of Jimmy's life, Sherri finds more than a few people who wanted her lying, scheming, scam artist husband gone but which one actually did the deed?"

East of England


Eamonn Martin Griffin - 2019
    He's got a choice. Stay or leave. Go back to where it all went wrong, or simply get out of the county. Disappear. Start again as someone else.But it's not as simple as that.There's the matter of the man he killed. It wasn't murder, but even so. You tell that to the family. Especially when that family is the Mintons, who own half that's profitable and two-thirds of what's crooked between the Wolds and the coast. And who could have got to Matlock as easy as you like in prison, but who haven't touched him. Not yet.And like Matlock found out in prison, there's no getting away from yourself, so what would the point be in not facing up to other people?It's time to go home.East of England blends a rural take on the noir thriller with a fascination with the British industrialised countryside that lies east of the Wolds, between the Humber and the Wash. Unlit byways rather than the neon-bright and rain-slicked city. A world of caravan parks, slot machines, and low-rise battery farms.The flatlands of the east coast; decaying market towns and run-down resorts, and the distant throb of offshore windfarms. Where the smell you're trying to get out of your clothes is the cigarette taint of old phone boxes and bus shelters, and where redemption, like life, is either hard-earned or fought for, one way or another.

Death of A Perfect Mother


Robert Barnard - 1981
    Death of a Perfect Mother (Mass Market Paperback) by Robert Barnard

Bodies in Winter


Robert Knightly - 2009
    . . - On a cold winter's morning in New York, NYPD detective Harry Corbin and his partner Adele Bentibi arrive at the scene of a murder. It looks like a cut-and-dried case but, as Corbin and Bentibi investigate, they uncover a murky world of bent cops and cover-ups that puts both of their careers and their lives in serious danger . . .

The Water Rat of Wanchai + The Dragon Head of Hong Kong: An Ava Lee Novel: Book 1


Ian Hamilton - 2014
    Ava Lee is a young Chinese-Canadian forensic accountant who works for an elderly Hong Kong–based “Uncle,” who may or may not have ties to the Triads. At 115 lbs., she hardly seems a threat. But her razor sharp intellect and resourcefulness allows her to succeed where traditional methods have failed.In The Water Rat of Wanchai, Ava travels across continents to track $5 million owed by a seafood company. But it’s in Guyana where she meets her match: Captain Robbins, a huge hulk of a man and godfather-like figure who controls the police, politicians, and criminals alike. In exchange for his help, he decides he wants a piece of Ava’s $5 million action and will do whatever it takes to get his fair share . . .Featuring the Prequel: The Dragon Head of Hong Kong:Young Ava Lee is a forensic accounting who has just opened her own private firm. One of her clients, Hedrick Lo, has been swindled of more than a million dollars by a Chinese importer named Johnny Kung. Desperate, Lo persuades Ava to find and retrieve the monies owed. Ava goes to Hong Kong, where she plunges into the dangerous underground collection business and meets a man who will forever change her life . . .

Random Acts


Taylor Smith - 1998
    After children start disappearing, it's up to the FBI's best to stop a killer. — Criminal profiler Laurel Madden is at the top of her field. But being the best comes at a price. Brilliant, beautiful and aloof, Agent Madden has a dark side and even darker secrets. Maybe that's why she understands the criminal mind so well.Sent to cover the disappearance of the children, reporter Claire Fillespie arrives in California with another, more personal agenda: to rip away the veil of secrecy that surrounds and protects Madden. Claire has evidence that Madden committed murder...and got away with it. Until now. And Claire won't rest until there's justice for the victim - someone she cared about.Between these two determined woman stands veteran FBI agent Dan Sprague - torn by duty, loyalty to one woman and an intense attraction to the other that's as unwelcome as it is irresistible.As the balance shifts dangerously between thse three, one thing becomes clear: hunting killers is a dangerous game.

Where The Broken Lie


Derek Rempfer - 2013
    In spite of her death being blamed on a disturbed drifter known as Slim Jim, Tucker has always wondered if the real killer is still out there. With new clues arriving through anonymous letters left at the graveyard, Tucker is certain that Katie's death is truly unsolved. While coming to terms with the loss of his son, Tucker also seeks truth. But the real killer may still be out there, willing to kill again to protect a dark secret.Where The Broken Lie shines a spotlight on small-town secrets, faith, fear, love and loss in this enigmatic journey into the scarred hearts left behind.

The Black Book / Mortal Causes


Ian Rankin - 2005
    

DOUBLE BLIND: The Icelandic Manuscript Murders


Sara Winokur - 2020
    Twenty years later, a mysterious poem lands on the desk of his twin sister Brynja, a forensic geneticist, and rekindles her hopes that her brother might be alive. As Brynja unravels the clues, more poems arrive, each bearing dire consequences for those who receive them: the guard of the medieval manuscript of Icelandic sagas that possibly has the answer to her burning question, the prime minister’s secretary, the local pastor. Is the poet out to stop Brynja from finding her brother and shut down her access to the DNA database? Or is the verse maker simply a psychopath copycat killer? Fighting the visual auras that have plagued her since childhood and now threaten everything she holds dear, Brynja must summon the strength to navigate the twisted labyrinth of the poet’s mind and confront the dark secret buried in her family’s past. "DOUBLE BLIND: The Icelandic Manuscript Murders" is a wild ride through the cultural landscape of Iceland, from rural farmsteads to icy fjords to the high-tech world of DNA forensics. This crime thriller packed with twists and turns will keep you at the edge of your seat until the very end.

Port of Sorrow


Grant McKenzie - 2013
    His latest stop is Port Sorrow, a rough-and-tumble coastal town on the northern edge of the Olympic Peninsula.In the audience tonight, rookie deputy sheriff Julia Rusk has drawn the short straw and is scanning the rowdy audience for signs of a suspected serial rapist.A shotgun blast brings these two strangers together as a young stripper bleeds out on stage.While Julia tries to find the gunman and prove she's worthy to wear the badge, Finn takes the law into his own hands. Tracking through seedy dockside bars and the hidden world of the homeless, Finn comes to realize just how many lives this killer has touched.But what neither of them realizes is the killer doesn't work alone, and not even the police can protect them when he finally shows his face.

The Burning Land


George Alagiah - 2019
    Sabotage, yes. Propaganda, yes. All of that and more - but not this. Not murder.' As greed and corruption taint the optimism of a nation, the political becomes deeply personal for former childhood friends, Lindi and Kagiso. Their beloved home country, South Africa, is rapidly turning into a powder keg, as nations fight for ownership of its land and resources. With the murder of one of the nation's bright young hopes, the fuse is well and truly lit. As the hunt for his killer intensifies, Lindi and Kagiso come together to protect the land and people they love; even as events are set in motion that no one - least of all they - can control.