Book picks similar to
Daisy the Firecow by Viki Woodworth


picture-books
childrens
storytime
animals

Chief Rhino to the Rescue!


Sam Lloyd - 2008
    If anyone can save the day, Chief Rhino can!In this new adventure from Whoops-a-Daisy World, children can spot their old friends from Doctor Meow's Big Emergency in the background and make new friends, too.Sam Lloyd's humorous, brightly colored art is thoroughly kid-friendly and will appeal to fans of Curious George and Richard Scarry's Busytown books.

Over There


Steve Pilcher - 2014
    There must be something more, he thinks. So when he sees a "silver line twinkling in the distance," he decides to find out what it is. He discovers a beautiful stream, but then he gets caught up in the current! Luckily, a mole named Nosey saves him. As they explore, Shredder begins to miss the forest, so he and Nosey return together, and Shredder realizes that all he really needed was a friend.

Counting with Barefoot Critters


Teagan White - 2016
    What is a day of counting with Barefoot Critters?ReadingMaking pancakesHelping friendsExploringSwimmingPlaying piratesLearning about numbers!Join this adorable cast of animal characters as they explore numbers and counting over the course of a day, having fun at all stops along the way.

A Lion in the Night


Pamela Allen - 1985
    A royal household is disrupted when a lion runs off with the baby.

Clumsy Crab


Ruth Galloway - 2005
    His huge claws always get in the way! When he tries to play catch-the-bubble with his friends, he accidentally pops the bubble. When everyone plays tag, Nipper trips on one of his claws. And when Nipper and his pals play hide-and-seek, Nipper's big claws smash his hiding place! So Nipper looks for his friends. He finds Turtle and Jellyfish, but there's no sign of Octopus. Finally, they find him tangled in seaweed. It's up to Nipper and his claws to set Octopus free!

Rub-a-Dub Sub


Linda Ashman - 2003
    So pull on your favorite swimsuit and dive into this rhyming young fantasy. Just watch out for the shark!

Way Down Deep in the Deep Blue Sea


Jan Peck - 2004
    I guarantee! Come on! Be brave! Just follow me! And let's explore the deep blue sea!

Slow Snail


Mary Murphy - 2012
    But when she finally arrives at her vegetable bed, it’s worth it — she’s just in time for dinner!

Maisy Goes on Vacation: A Maisy First Experience Book


Lucy Cousins - 2010
    They’re headed for the seashore, but getting there is only half the fun. Coloring and snacks help pass the time on the ride to the beach, where Maisy can’t wait to swim, collect seashells, build sandcastles, and lots more. At nighttime it feels special to go to bed in a hotel—knowing that tomorrow another vacation day awaits!

The Noisy Counting Book


Susan Schade - 1987
    Toddlers love to count along and imitate the animals as they count. The big frog's trademark GA-DUNK becomes more fun to say with every page.Thanks to this new board book edition, parents, teachers, and librarians who have searched in vain for an affordable used copy will finally be able to share this gem with a whole new generation of GA-DUNKing toddlers at story time.

Jane Foster's Black and White


Jane Foster - 2016
    A fetching and effective introduction to the world of numbers.” —Starred Kirkus Review “It’s a book that style-minded parents and kids can appreciate equally.” — Starred Publisher’s Weekly Review“This unusually attractive counting board book from the British illustrator and textile designer Jane Foster shows off her style in a way that will catch – and hold – the eye of grown-ups and younger children alike.” —New York Times Children’s Board Book roundup review

Crinkle, Crackle, Crack: It's Spring!


Marion Dane Bauer - 2015
    Invites the reader to join a bear and other woodland animals on a cold, moonlit walk to investigate strange noises and observe the arrival of spring.

Curious George Visits a Toy Store


Margret Rey - 2002
    Will his monkey business be bad for business? Everyone’s favorite monkey finds a clever way to make the grand opening a grand success.

Mommy, Where Are You?


Leonid Gore - 2009
    One morning Ozzy wakes up...and Mommy isn't there! Where could she be? Behind the fence? Down in the meadow? Up in the tree? Or maybe she is exactly where she is supposed to be after all.

Silly Goose's Big Story


Keiko Kasza - 2012
    Except one thing - Goose is always the hero. And when they ask to take turns leading the fun, Goose doesn't agree. While they argue about it, no one notices the hungry wolf sneaking up on them until he shouts, "Hello, Lunch!" This real-life danger shows Goose how silly he's been and that his friends make terrific heroes! Always a surefire hit on laps or at storytime, Keiko Kasza's latest shows how imagination can come in handy in an unexpected way.