Escape from the Overworld


Danica Davidson - 2015
    Stevie is shocked by how different this world is, and Maison takes him under her wing. But soon the two friends learn zombies have also made their way out of the portal! More and more creatures are slipping out by the second, wreaking havoc on a world that has no idea how to handle zombies, creepers, giant spiders, and the like. Stevie and Maison must put their heads together and use their combined talents in order to push the zombies back into Minecraft, where they belong. As Stevie and Maison’s worlds become more combined, their adventure becomes intense and even more frightening than they could have ever imagined.

Into the Spotlight


Carrie Hope Fletcher - 2020
    Pebbles of all shapes, sizes and colours and even one that looked a bit like Elvis Presley if you held it up to the light and squinted a bit. Her favourite pebbles, however, are Marigold, Margot and Morris.One by one, and by strange and unusual ways, each child arrives at the stage door of Great Aunt Maud's theatre in the heart of London.They spend their summer holidays backstage with an extraordinary cast of theatre acts - Dante the miraculous magician, Petunia the storyteller and seventy-year-old contortionists - the Fortune Sisters!One day, as they are exploring the many nooks and crannies of the theatre, they stumble upon something they were never meant to find . . .

Changes in Latitudes


Will Hobbs - 1988
    A vacation in Mexico with his mother, sister, and little brother might cramp his style, but he's willing to take that risk for a chance to cruise the beaches. Travis soon discovers that even with his headphones and shades, he can't completely cut himself off from his family's problems. He begins to understand why his father didn't come with them: His mother is contemplating a divorce. Meanwhile his younger brother, Teddy, becomes increasingly obsessed with protecting some endangered sea turtles near the resort. In spite of himself, Travis is drawn into Teddy's efforts to save the turtles. But it takes a devastating tragedy beyond his imagining to shake Travis out of his cynicism -- a tragedy that will change his family forever.

Max's Story


W. Bruce Cameron - 2018
    Here is another irresistible tale in the bestselling series for middle grade readers adapted from the New York Times and USA Today bestselling novel A Dog's Purpose and A Dog's Journey by W. Bruce Cameron.As soon as he sets eyes on CJ, Max knows that she’s his girl and quickly figures out his purpose: to show her how to navigate the big city. Being a native New Yorker, Max knows how to take charge, even though he’s the smallest dog at the park. At the same time, with CJ’s help, Max learns that he doesn’t always have to be ferocious—sometimes, he can be “gentle Max” and make friends.Young fans of Ellie’s Story, Bailey’s Story, and Molly’s Story will love Max’s Story, the story of a little dog in the big city. Includes adorable illustrations by Richard Cowdrey and a reading and discussion guide at the end of the book.At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Love and Kisses


Jean Ure - 2009
    Even her ten-year-old sister has a boyfriend, so surely it must be her turn soon! When Tamsin meets Alex, she just can't stop thinking about him, and she’s thrilled when he asks her out on a date. But he’s sixteen and has already left school. Before she knows it, Tamsin is lying about her age and going behind her parents back… but for how long can she keep up the pretence?A charming story about the innocence of first love – and learning to do the right thing.

Loving Spirit


Linda Chapman - 2010
    Now she must live in England with family who are more like strangers.Life on her uncle's farm seems so lonely - until Ellie meets Spirit. She's never seen the grey horse before, but she has the strangest feeling they've always known each other.Like Ellie, Spirit is alone in the world, and they form an intense bond. And as the weeks go by, Spirit helps Ellie to discover an incredible talent that changes both their lives forever.

The Secrets of Hexbridge Castle


Gabrielle Kent - 2015
    Perfect for fans of ENID BLYTON, ROALD DAHL, and J K ROWLING.Alfie Bloom's life is dull. Dull and lonely, and this summer is set to be the most boring yet. All of that changes when he is summoned to the bizarre offices of mysterious solicitor, Caspian Bone, where he discovers he has inherited a castle full of wonders that has been sealed for centuries. Alfie is astounded to learn he was born in that very castle six hundred years ago during a magical timeslip. There, Orin Hopcraft, the last of the druids hid an ancient magic inside him, which others seek but should never be used. With the help of his cousins Madeleine and Robin, and Artan the flying bearskin rug, Alfie must keep the magic from terrifying adversaries and ensure that the secrets of Hexbridge castle stay secret, forever!

Broken Heart Club


Cathy Cassidy - 2016
    They've promised to stay best friends forever and nothing can tear them apart. But sometimes things happen that you couldn't ever have expected and forever might not be as long as you think. Now, two years later, Eden and Ryan are haunted by memories of the past. Can they find a way to bring the club back together or is it too late to mend a broken heart?A gorgeous new story from the bestselling author of the Chocolate Box Girls series.

Secret Sisters of the Salty Sea


Lynne Rae Perkins - 2018
    The Wall Street Journal said, “Ocean meets sky meets two young girls in Lynne Rae Perkins’s affectionate chapter book. . . . Illustrations by the author add wit and tenderness to this sunny summer story.” For fans of Kate DiCamillo and Rebecca Stead.Alix and her older sister, Jools, have never been to the ocean. When their parents pack them up to spend a week by the shore, Alix is nervous about leaving home—but excited, too. At the beach, the sisters make friends, go exploring, and have adventures big and small. To Alix’s surprise, as the week comes to an end, she finds she doesn’t want to leave!Each chapter contains its own miniature discovery—from picking periwinkles, meeting a crab, and making sandcastles, to exploring the nearby town. Award-winning author Lynne Rae Perkins has beautifully crafted a genuine and engaging novel about sisters, family, and exploration.A great read-aloud, as well as a good choice for newly independent readers. Booklist said, “Ordinary pleasures, in the hands of a writer so skilled, are elevated.” Features black and white art throughout.

Not My Fault


Cath Howe - 2019
    But will the trip – and a life-threatening adventure – fix their relationship… or break it for good?A beautiful story of family, forgiveness, and finding out who you are, from the author of the highly-acclaimed Ella on the Outside.

Norman Tuttle on the Last Frontier (Tom Bodett Adventure Series)


Tom Bodett - 2004
    He falls off his father’s fishing boat into icy Alaskan waters. He quietly sweats on gorgeous Laura Magruder at the school dance. He gets himself on the bad side of Leonard Kopinski, an overgrown eighth-grader who shaves. As Norman contemplates a long and lonely adolescence on the Last Frontier, he’s sure there’s more to life than being the klutziest kid in Alaska. In 15 closely linked stories that follow Norman from age 13 to going-on 16, Tom Bodett combines rugged Alaskan adventure with a warm and funny story of a boy who may not be as lonely as he thinks.From the Hardcover edition.

Everything Changes


Ann M. Martin - 1999
    Martin's classic series. Throughout the summer members of the club share feelings about who they are and where they're going in a special journal. Four members drop out of the club, bringing the group back to the original characters: Kristy, Mary Anne, Claudia, and Stacey. Four Friends Forever.

The Not-Just-Anybody Family


Betsy Byars - 1986
    That had been just before Junior spotted a police car approaching the farm in a cloud of dust.Meanwhile Pap, the children's grandfather, sits in disgrace in the city jail. He was arrested for disturbing the peace after his pickup truck accidentally dumped 2,147 beer and soda cans (worth $107.35) on Spring Street.With their mother away on the rodeo circuit, it's up to Maggie and Vern to find a way to rescue Pap and Junior. How will they solve their family problems?

The Seventeen Secrets of the Karma Club


Karen McCombie - 2008
    It's their mission to cheer people up with treats and surprises. But then Kezzy's mum reveals a secret of her own - she used to be married to Nell's dad. And technically, she still is!

Episode 1: The New Girl: The Extraordinarily Ordinary Life of Cassandra Jones


Tamara Hart Heiner - 2015
    She's as ordinary as any other fifth grader. And yet her ordinary life is riddled with hilarious and sometimes heart-breaking mishaps as she guides herself through the world of pre-teens on the brink of adulthood. Cassandra Jones is the new girl at school. She's been uprooted from her beloved state of Texas and relocated to the hillbilly Ozarks of Springdale, Arkansas. She wonders if she will like her teacher or if she will have any friends. She can only hope school won't be harder than it was back home. She doesn't expect to have two close friends, and even worse, two friends that don't like each other. As she tries to make a spot for herself, will she keep her friendships intact? Receive a free copy of episode 2 here: http://tamarahartheiner.blogspot.com/...