Book picks similar to
Three for a Girl by Sarah A. Denzil


fiction
mystery
audiobook
psychological-thriller

Bad Sister


Sam Carrington - 2017
    Brett always liked to play with fire, but now their dad is dead and someone has to pay the price.NowPsychologist Connie Summers wants to help Stephanie rebuild her life. She has a new name, a young son and everything to live for. But when Stephanie receives a letter from someone she’d hoped would never find her, Connie is forced to question what really happened that night. But some truths are better left alone . . .Gripping, tense and impossible to put down, Bad Sister will have fans of Sue Fortin, B.A. Paris and Linda Green hooked until the final page.

You Will Never Leave


N.L. Hinkens - 2020
    All of us are lying. After Matt returns from a harrowing deployment in Afghanistan, he and his wife, Blair, take off around the States in his father’s camping trailer for what they hope will be a tranquil trip. When torrential rain derails their plans, they, along with a handful of other travelers, seek shelter at a remote campground. Things soon take a disturbing turn when they stumble upon a body. And then the unthinkable happens. A horrific mudslide overnight washes out the only access road in and out of the campground, leaving them cut off from the outside world—and at the mercy of an unknown killer. But when one of the campers mysteriously disappears, their fear quickly turns inward. Is someone stalking the camp, or is the killer one of them? - A nail-biting thriller that will leave you guessing to the very end! - Will you enjoy You Will Never Leave? If you read any of my favorite psychological and domestic suspense thriller authors including K.L. Slater, Shalini Boland, Adan Croft, Kathryn Croft, Lisa Gardner, Louise Jensen, or Rachel Caine, the answer is a resounding yes!

Beneath the Surface


Sibel Hodge - 2017
    so what could drive an ordinary boy to kill?When the teenage son of Holly Gold’s school friend brutally murders his parents before killing himself, her sleepy home town is rocked by the sudden tragedy.Appalled, Holly investigates. What could have caused the happy-go-lucky boy she remembers to commit such a heinous crime? When another teen commits suicide, she uncovers a horrifying link between the recent deaths and a dark conspiracy to hide the truth.But someone doesn’t want Holly asking questions and, as she hunts for evidence to prove her theory, she’s dragged into a nightmare that threatens her life and her sanity. Then tragedy strikes again - and this time it’s closer to home ...

Hidden


Lisa Sell - 2019
    Taylor's Sleep. As well as for fans of authors like Louise Jensen, Rachel Abbott and Heidi Perks.

Spare Me the Truth


C.J. Carver - 2016
    The threat is simple: pay the staggering sum her mother allegedly owed, or lose everything.Lucy Davies has been forced from the Met by her own maverick behaviour. Desperate to prove herself in her new rural post, she's on the hunt for a killer - but this is no small town criminal.Plunged into a conspiracy that will test each of them to their limits, these three strangers are brought together in their hunt for the truth, whatever it costs. And as their respective investigations become further and further entwined, it becomes clear that at the centre of this tangled web is a threat more explosive than any of them could have imagined.

The Orchid Girls


Lesley Sanderson - 2018
    'I will never tell anyone, I swear. This is between you and me. Now you swear too.' They called them the Orchid Girls. Grace. Charlotte. Molly. One of them is in love. One of them is a liar. One of them is dead. One day, three became two – and no one knows the truth. What really happened that summer? The Orchid Girls is a breathless, gripping and twisty story of love, obsession and dark secrets. Fans of K.L. Slater, The Wife Between Us and Paula Hawkins’ The Girl on the Train – read this one with the lights on…

Hello, My Name is May


Rosalind Stopps - 2019
    Hello, it said, my name is May. Please talk to me.May has been moved to a care home after her stroke. She can’t communicate, all her words are kept inside. If she tries to point, her arms swing in wild directions, if she tries to talk, strange noises come out of her mouth.May is sharp, quick, and funny, but only her daughter Jenny sees this, and Jackie, a new friend at the home who cares enough to look and listen closely.When May discovers that someone very familiar, from long ago, is living in the room opposite hers she is haunted by scenes from her earlier life, when she was a prisoner of her husband’s unpredictable rages. Bill, the man in the opposite room seems so much like her husband, though almost a lifetime has passed, and May’s eyesight isn’t what it was.As Bill charms his way through the nursing home, he focuses his romantic attention on Jackie, while all May can do is watch. She is determined to protect Jackie and keep herself safe, but what can she do in her vulnerable, silent state?

The Perfect Couple


Jackie Kabler - 2019
    

Just Before I Died


S.K. Tremayne - 2018
    She likes her life the moors are beautiful, if bleak and she counts herself as happy, even if they struggle with money, and work, and her daughter's shyness.But one day Kath wakes up from a coma, with a vague memory of a near-fatal car accident. She hugs her daughter close, likewise her husband Adam. But there’s something wrong. Adam seems furious with her and Lyla is acting evermore strangely. They should be delighted to see her alive, snatched from certain death. But they won't meet her gazeThen Kath learns that the car crash wasn't an accident, and her whole life collapses into a world of panic, and danger

The Silence


Daisy Pearce - 2020
    She’s vulnerable. She’s just what Marco was looking for.Stella Wiseman was a child TV star, but there’s nothing glamorous about her life now. Alone in her thirties, she’s lost her parents and her friends and she’s stuck in a dead-end job. But just as she hits rock bottom she meets Marco, a charismatic older man who offers to get her back on her feet. He seems too good to be true.Is he?She appreciates the money he lavishes on her. And the pills. But are the pills just helping her sleep, or helping her avoid her problems?With Stella’s life still in freefall, Marco whisks her away to a secluded cottage where she is isolated from everyone except him. But the closer he pulls her, the worse she gets. He tells her it’s all in her head, and she just needs time away from the world.No longer sure what’s real and what’s not, Stella begins to question whether she was wrong to trust Marco. Was she wrong to trust herself? Is the one person she thought was fighting for her survival actually her biggest threat?

The Pact


S.E. Lynes - 2018
    It could destroy your daughter. The Daughter 15-year-old Rosie lies in hospital fighting for her life. She’s trying to tell her mother what happened to her, and how she got there, but she can’t speak the words out loud. The Mother Rosie’s mother Toni has a secret. She had a traumatic childhood, and she and her sister Bridget made each other a promise thirty years ago: that they could never speak the truth about what happened to them as children, and that they would protect each other without asking for help from others, no matter what… Rosie was Toni’s second chance to get things right: a happy, talented girl with her whole life ahead of her. Having lost her husband in a tragic accident, Toni has dedicated her life to keeping Rosie safe from harm. But Rosie has plans that her mother doesn’t know about. She has dreams and ambitions – of love, of a career, of a life beyond the sheltered existence that her mother has created for her. But the secrets Rosie has been keeping have now put her life in danger. The Pact In order to save Rosie, Toni may have to break her lifelong promise to her sister… and open doors to her past she hoped would remain closed forever.

One Mistake


Rona Halsall - 2020
    Looking around her home with its cosy kitchen and living room, where her energetic teenage daughters and gorgeous four-year-old son all eat, play and live together, she knows she’d do anything to keep them safe.So when Sara’s husband Matt loses his job and every shred of his confidence with it, she knows it’s up to her to bring the family back from the brink. Though she doesn’t know where she can possibly find the money they need to keep afloat.Until her boss at work offers her a deal. He’ll help out. She just has to do him one little favour. But could trusting him save Sara’s family, or will it be a mistake that costs her absolutely everything?This year’s most gripping psychological thriller – perfect for fans of My Lovely Wife, The Girl on the Train, and Something in the Water.

Woman of the Dead


Bernhard Aichner - 2014
    Hypnotic!' LISA GARDNERHow far would you go to avenge the one you love?Blum has a secret buried deep in her past.She thought she'd left the past behind.But then Mark, the man she loves, dies.His death looks like a hit-and-run. It isn't a hit-and-run. Mark has been killed by the men he was investigating.And then, suddenly, Blum rediscovers what she's capable of...KILL BILL meets DEXTER via THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO, WOMAN OF THE DEAD is a wild ride of a thriller where the first stage of grief is revenge. And revenge is a dish best served bloody.

The Last To Know


Wendy Corsi Staub - 2001
    The sort of peaceful, suburban existence Tasha Banks dreamed of living when she left her fast-paced career for full-time motherhood. But now, Tasha's perfect dream is turning into a terrifying nightmare. Someone is targeting women in Townsend Heights -- and not just any women. A serial killer is looking for a particular kind of prey...young, stay-at-home mothers...exactly like Tasha. One by one, Tasha's friends are disappearing, only to die in horrific ways. Suddenly, terror is transforming Townsend Heights into a sinister place of fear and foreboding -- a place where evil lurks behind every corner, hiding behind the mask of a familiar face -- a face that may be the last one Tasha ever sees.

I Am Watching


Emma Kavanagh - 2019
    Three bodies, sitting propped up against the ancient stones of Hadrian's Wall. A closer look reveals the horror of their too-white faces, and the ring of vivid red bruises around each neck.The victims were found by schoolgirl Isla Bell, out on an early morning run along the historic site. That day changed the small, close-knit community of Briganton forever, and it also shaped the course of Isla's life. Twenty years later, she's a professor of criminal psychology at the University of Northumberland. She specializes in studying the brain function of psychopaths and serial killers, wrestling with the question that still haunts her: why? Why did Heath McGowan kill those people--and two more besides--before he was finally caught by Isla's police detective father?At last, Isla has a chance to get answers. Heath, previously unforthcoming about the murders, agrees to take part in her research. Isla's husband, Ramsey--the only one of Heath's victims to survive--cautions her against the meeting. But no matter how ready Isla feels to peer within a killer's mind, there is no way to prepare for the fresh horror about to engulf Briganton. Another body is found, displayed just as before . . . and then another. Is this a copycat, someone inspired by or receiving help from the serial killer behind bars? Or could the truth be darker still?A brilliantly twisted thriller--gripping, atmospheric, and skillfully layered, I Am Watching will keep readers guessing until the very end.