Captain Pug


Laura James - 2017
    And with breakfast, come crumbs – but not just any old crumbs, jam tart crumbs. Jam tarts are Pug's favorite food, and he loves nothing more than to share them with his best friend, Lady Miranda. But just before Pug can finish the last jam tart, Lady Miranda picks him up and whisks him away for a sea-faring adventure. Unfortunately for Pug, it turns out that water may be his biggest fear!To avoid the water, Pug takes a well-timed snack break. But when his brief respite takes an unexpected turn, Pug will have to find his true Captain self and steer a path back home.This delightful story of friendship is perfect for fans of Diva and Flea.

Smarter than Squirrels


Lucy Nolan - 2004
    But when Here Kitty Kitty moves in next door, their daily routines are turned topsy-turvy. Filled with humor and adventure, this illustrated chapter book takes a look at life in the backyard from the well-intentioned but misguided viewpoint of man’s best friend.

Everything's Better with a Beard


Si Robertson - 2014
    In this photographic picture book with whimsical, rhyming text, objects both animate and inanimate are given the Duck Commander family treatment—with beards! Whether it’s a dog, a truck, or a duck, one thing’s for sure: Everything’s better with a beard!

Pigsticks and Harold and the Incredible Journey


Alex Milway - 2014
    When his help-wanted ad draws a motley crew of candidates, he chooses a hapless delivery hamster named Harold. As the unlikely duo set off from Tuptown with plenty of tea cakes in tow, Pigsticks is breathless with excitement (and Harold is struggling for breath under all the gear). But after a long trek through jungles, over deserts, and up a giant ice-topped mountain, the last crumb of cake is stolen by a herd of thieving goats, and their goal is nowhere in sight. Will they ever discover the Ends of the Earth? Could it be in the last place they’d ever think to look?

See Me Dig


Paul Meisel - 2013
    These dogs like to dig--and dig--and dig! But when their digging disturbs gophers, racoons, and an angry bear, they have to run! The beach is a new place to dig, but what could be in that treasure chest. . . ? Pirate's treasure? No . . . it's full of pirate ghosts, and they have to run away again!Finally, the dogs find a new spot--and something that likes to dig as much as they do.Bright, cartoonish illustrations bring this story to life, full of energy and action--adding detail and humor to the simple text to support the story. This cast of mischievous dogs is sure to win your heart as they play in the dirt and chase each other through the pages of this early reader.The award-winning I Like to Read(R) series focuses on guided reading levels A through G, based upon Fountas and Pinnell standards. Acclaimed author-illustrators--including winners of Caldecott, Theodor Seuss Geisel, and Coretta Scott King honors--create original, high quality illustrations that support comprehension of simple text and are fun for kids to read with parents, teachers, or on their own!Suitable for late kindergarten readers, Level D books use a wider vocabulary and more complex plots with multiple scenes. They feature longer sentences and greater variety in sentence structure than the prior levels. Move onto Level E books next!

Buddy and Earl


Maureen Fergus - 2015
    But when the small, prickly creature says he is a pirate — and that Buddy is a pirate too — the two mismatched friends are off on a grand adventure.In this first book in the Buddy and Earl series, a dog who likes to play by the rules meets a hedgehog who knows no limits. Their friendship is tender and loyal, and their adventures are funny and imaginative. Maureen Fergus’s text is witty and understated, and Carey Sookocheff’s art emphasizes both the humor and the warmth of this odd and loveable animal couple.Coming in 2016 — Buddy and Earl Go Exploring and Buddy and Earl and the Great Big Baby.

The Adventures of Nanny Piggins


R.A. Spratt - 2009
    The three Green children are cared for by a nanny pig. Yes, a pig--a fabulously sassy and impeccably dressed pig, as a matter of fact! With her insatiable urge to eat chocolate (and feed chocolate to everyone she loves), her high-flying spirit, and her unending sense of fun, Nanny Piggins takes Derrick, Samantha, and Michael on a year of surprises, yummy treats, and adventures they'll never forget. It's no surprise that Booklist proclaimed, "Mary Poppins, move over--or get shoved out of the way." Nanny Piggins is a refreshing and dynamic addition to favorite classic nannies: Amelia Bedelia, Mrs. Piggle Wiggle, and, of course, Mary Poppins. Read more books in the series: Nanny Piggins and the Wicked Plan and Nanny Piggins and the Runaway Lion.

Maybelle in the Soup


Katie Speck - 2007
    She lives in her own cozy little home under the refrigerator of Mr. and Mrs. Peabody. Maybelle knows it's best to stay hidden away, but she simply adores food. Just once she would love to taste something yummy before it hits the floor!When the Peabodys invite a Very Important Guest for dinner, Maybelle can't resist. She takes a teeny taste—and splashes into the biggest adventure of her life!

Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day


Eric Barclay - 2020
    But when it grows too full and too fluffy, it covers her eyes and she trips over things—ouch! A Texan-style cowboy hat can controls Sheep’s wool for a while, but it’s just not working!Sheep Dog wants his pal to get a haircut, and since it’s shearing day, she certainly can. But Sheep’s scared. What if her wool never grows back? She hides everywhere, until Sheep Dog discovers her hiding in a bush. . . . Can Sheep Dog convince Sheep that a haircut is for the best?

Curious George and the Puppies


Margret Rey - 1998
    At first, George just wants to pet the puppy, but then he wants to hold one. George's curiosity gets the best of him, and soon puppies are everywhere.

Peg Leg Peke


Brie Spangler - 2008
    But when he uses his imagination, he’s no longer a pup with a broken leg, he’s a pirate with a peg leg on the high seas! Can he find the buried treasure? In her picture book debut, Brie Spangler celebrates the power of imagination and introduces a lovable Pekingnese puppy who refuses to let his boo-boo keep him from having fun.

Dog Diaries: Secret Writings of the WOOF Society


Betsy Byars - 2007
    Dogs of all different backgrounds and breeds have gathered together to listen to the diaries of twelve dogs from around the world and throughout history. Abu is the ruler of ancient Egypt, but Miu, the Royal Cat, continues to challenge him, except at night. Tidbit, born the runt of the litter, becomes a star singer at the Grand Ole Opry. Jip leads his blinded master back home from the Civil War. Mimi, a dog living in Paris, shares her tips on bathroom protocol and dinnertime etiquette. And eight more!Betsy Byars and her daughters, Laurie Myers and Betsy Duffey, the trio who brought you MY DOG, MY HERO and THE SOS FILE, have pooled their talents once again to write on a subject they love. DOG DIARIES is a collection of humorous and touching stories, complemented by Erik Brooks' black-and-white illustrations, that will appeal to dog lovers of all ages.

No, No, Kitten!


Shelley Moore Thomas - 2015
    She also wants a helmet and lasers and a puppy (!). And she wants to go to Jupiter, with that helmet, those lasers, and said puppy—don’t underestimate her. This witty picture book, about longing for what’s just out of reach, will appeal to both girls and boys who’ve always wanted to do the impossible. NO, NO, KITTEN! takes flight on the power of imagination and one feline’s ambitious dreams.

Pirate's Perfect Pet


Beth Ferry - 2016
    He has a pirate ship, an eye patch, courage and daring, and more. Only one thing is missing: Captain Crave doesn’t have a pet. Arrr! Shuck me an oyster and set sail for land! The captain and his crew race and chase critters of every size and shape, from the beach to a farm to the zoo to a pet shop, causing a commotion wherever they go. But just when all seems lost, the search party stumbles on the most perfectly perfect pet for Captain Crave. Has he finally met his match? Aye-aye!

I'm a Baked Potato!


Elise Primavera - 2019
    . . Children and caregivers alike will enjoy this charming tale. — Kirkus Reviews When a baked potato–loving lady adopts a dog, she adores him unconditionally&mdashland given the pup's small, round frame and warm, brown coat she can't help but call him "Baked Potato"! But what happens when a dog who thinks he's a baked potato gets lost? Will he find his lady? And more importantly, will he find himself? I'm a Baked Potato! is a fun, bighearted story about the names we're given, the names we choose, and how both can help us find our way home. Full of heart and laugh-out-loud moments, this story will leave readers giggling—and looking at pets in a whole new way.• A book about identity and discovering where one might belong• Filled with personality filled animals including a mean blue dog, a wily fox, and a very smart owl • Full of heart and laugh-out-loud moments, this story will leave readers gigglingAdults and kids who are fans of Llama Destroys the World, Rabbit and Robot, or Tiny T.Rex and the Impossible Hug will love this book.This book is perfect for children discovering the sensory details of the world and is ideal for the following reading categories:• Read-aloud books• Early reading books • Fun books for Kids• Book for kids about getting a new pet