An Armful of Animals


Malcolm D. Welshman - 2018
    Welshman has had a lifetime filled with exciting encounters with animals. As a lad in Nigeria, he is attacked by soldier ants and terrified by a snake in his treehouse. His treasured companion, Poucher, an African bush dog, prevents him and his mother from being savaged by baboons. Once qualified as a vet Malcolm has to attempt life-saving surgery on his beloved parrot. On a road trip across the Sahara, there is a tussle with a lame camel and the operation on an Ostrich gored by an antelope. Settling back in West Sussex in England, he tackles a cow that’s got stuck in a tree, wily cats and battles with cunning badgers and baby bats. He shares all these fascinating experiences in this gently humorous memoir that will guarantee to tug at the heart strings while bringing a smile to your face. Anyone who loves animals will be enchanted and enthralled.‘A witty take on a young vet’s life that pet lovers will find endearing.’ – Bel Mooney, Daily Mail.‘A joyful read full of animals and fun.’ – Celia Haddon, author and former Daily Telegraph columnist.‘Bursting with exotic creatures and eccentric characters, this touching memoir makes for a spellbinding read where the author’s love of animals shines through.’ – Jenny Itzcovitz, editor of Sixtyplussurfers.co.uk.

Cock-a-Doodle-Oops!


Lori Degman - 2014
    How hard can it be to wake up a sleeping farmer? While the rooster is gone, the pig, cow, sheep, and other farm animals attempt to rouse Farmer McPeeper with "cock-a-doodle SQUEAL," “cock-a-doodle MOO,” and "cock-a-doodle BAAAA," with hilarious results. The irresistible humor in this barnyard comedy builds vocabulary while encouraging children to cock-a-doodle-uh-oh along with the silly farm animals.

It's MY Tree


Olivier Tallec - 2019
    But then the squirrel starts to worry. What if someone else decides it's THEIR tree? What if that someone wants to eat THEIR pine cones in the shade of THEIR tree? Should the squirrel build a gate in front of the tree to keep the others out? Or maybe a wall? Yes, a wall. The squirrel will build a long and high wall that no one can get over or around. Only, now that there's a wall, how can the squirrel know what's on the other side of it? Maybe a better tree is out there, full of pine cones. Maybe even a whole forest of better trees ...World-renowned author-illustrator Olivier Tallec has created a simple, funny, relevant fable for the modern age. The humor and exaggeration ensure that even the youngest children will recognize the greed, xenophobia and fear of missing out afflicting the poor squirrel. With tones of bright orange and yellow, the captivating illustrations bring the enormous-tailed squirrel's rapid-fire range of emotions to vivid and hilarious life. This highly entertaining read-aloud would also make a perfect conversation starter for lessons on the importance of appreciating what one has.

The Deer Pasture


Rick Bass - 1985
    More than a place to stalk the white-tail, this is a place to get together, chase armadillos, swap campfire stories, listen to quail, make biscuits, and enjoy the antics of ringtails. It's the sort of place where a man is only as good as his dog, where memories last longer, where the hunter's moon is the perfect light for chasing raccoons. Most important, it is a place to recharge the spirit and renew family ties.

The Giant Seed


Arthur Geisert - 2012
    This time his pigs must get creative when a volcano destroys their home. Fortunately they got busybefore trouble hit by planting a huge mysterious seed, for it's the seed plus imagination, as well as a good dose of can-do spirit, that save the day! Illustrated with inventive, sensitive, and unusually lovely etchings that seem to come from an old cherished album, The Big Seed is a worthy successor to Geisert’s Ice.Award-winning children's book author Arthur Geisert's pigs are legendary in the world of children's books. They carve ice sculptures, teach Roman numerals, create ingenious machines, and get up to all kinds of antics. Did Arthur grow up on a farm? No. He grew up in Los Angeles and claims not to have seen a pig until he was an adult. Trained as a sculptor in college, Geisert learned to etch at the Otis Art Institute in Los Angeles. He has published just about a book a year for the past thirty years and every one of his books has been illustrated with etchings. In 1996 (as well as once previous to that) he won The New York Times Best Illustrated Award. Geisert lives in Bernard, Iowa.

Fly-Fishing the 41st: Around the World on the 41st Parallel


James Prosek - 2003
    . . . he has taken us on an unforgettable journey.” — Thomas McGuane, author of The Cadence of Grass and The Longest Silence: A Life in FishingThe New York Times has called James Prosek "the Audubon of the fishing world," and in Fly-Fishing the 41st, he uses his talent for descriptive writing to illuminate an astonishing adventure. Beginning in his hometown of Easton, Connecticut, Prosek circumnavigates the globe along the 41st parallel, traveling through Spain, Greece, Turkey, Armenia, Kyrgyzstan, China, and Japan. Along the way he shares some of the best fishing in the world with a host of wonderfully eccentric and memorable characters.

Migration: Incredible Animal Journeys


Mike Unwin - 2018
    Travel around the globe with some of the world's most incredible animals and discover their unique migration stories. Follow the emperor penguin through snow, ice and bitter temperatures; watch as the great white shark swims 10,000 km in search of seals; track huge herds of elephants, on their yearly hunt for water and be amazed at the millions of red crabs, migrating across Christmas Island.With stunning colour illustrations, uncover the astonishing migrations of 20 creatures, in this truly inspiring narrative. Written by Mike Unwin, a UK Travel Writer of the Year, and illustrated by Jenni Desmond, winner of the New York Times Best Illustrated Children's Book, prepare yourself for a journey like no other.

Rocket the Brave!


Tad Hills - 2018
     Rocket, the star of the New York Times bestselling picture books How Rocket Learned to Read and Rocket Writes a Story, returns in an all-new Step 1 Step into Reading leveled reader. Rocket is happily chasing a butterfly through the meadow when she disappears into the woods. As much as Rocket wants to follow the butterfly, the woods look dark and scary. Can Rocket overcome his fear? With predictable patterns, simple words, lots of repetition, and bright, colorful illustrations, young readers will love this new Rocket book, which they can read all by themselves!Step 1 Readers feature big type and easy words. Rhymes and rhythmic text paired with picture clues help children decode the story. Perfect for children who know the alphabet and are eager to begin reading.

Nerdy Babies: Ocean


Emmy Kastner - 2019
    Check out animals, plants, and fish that live in the ocean. Plus, learn about the unique ecosystem in this simple text written in question and answer format. With bright artwork by Emmy Kastner, this will be a book that the very littlest nerds will want to return to again and again. Stay curious. There’s more to learn about everything!

The Burger Bar Mysteries Box Set


Rosie A. Point - 2019
    She's on sabbatical and one wrong move means losing her job for good.But the secretive small town is also the site of her mother's murder, a cold case she desperately wants to investigate. Luckily, she has her best friend's restaurant, the Burger Bar, to keep her preoccupied with food and fun.When the peace in Sleepy Creek is broken as murder after murder takes place, Christie can't help investigating. The deaths are connected to her mother's cold case, it seems. Can she solve the mystery before she becomes the next victim?Enjoy the full series of all six books at a special price...

Geese Are Not Pets


Jenny Lee Learn - 2019
     It's not only incubators that can hatch geese. A story of responsibility and adventure. Alternating pages of simpler text for children learning to read because learning to read can be joyful! Get it now.

The Mockery Bird


Gerald Durrell - 1981
    The tiny island paradise of Zenkali is turned upside down when a civil war breaks out, and the island is invaded not only by the British Military, but by the world press and a fanatical group of conservationists - and all because of a silly bird.

Almost An Animal Alphabet


Katie Viggers - 2012
    For fans of Bruno Munari's Zoo and Andrew Zuckerman's Creature ABC, Almost an Animal Alphabet is a quirky combination of alphabet and (almost) animal book, introducing young children to the letters of the alphabet via a collection of appealingly drawn critters. With a gently humorous sensibility and a unique illustrative style, Almost an Animal Alphabet is a perfect choice for pre-readers who love animals.• Why is it called Almost An Animal Alphabet? There are actually 21 animals, 1 extinct animal, 3 non-animals (for N, U, and X), and 1 imaginary animal (for Y--can you guess? It's a yeti.)• Alphabet books are perennial sellers, popular with parents and as gifts--this one is distinguished by its simple, elegant style and the quirky emotional appeal of the animals   • Katie's art has a textural quality and an artisanal feeling that is enhanced by the matte paper-over-board cover of  Almost an Animal Alphabet,  making this a great gift for design-obsessed parents and possibly cross-over to non-parents who like the art

Seriously Mum, How Many Cats?


Alan Parks - 2014
    When Lily the alpaca falls pregnant, they are in for an anxious few months as they battle against the odds to keep themselves afloat. 'In Seriously Mum, How Many Cats?' there is concern that the cats are going to take over the farm. There are cats in the barn, cats in the garden and even a cat invasion in the bedroom one night. Exploding tyres, flamenco dancing, religious parades and, of course, all your favourite animals return once again to entertain you in the latest story about these much-loved expats.

Albert's Tree


Jenni Desmond - 2016
    What can be the matter? How can the bear cheer up his old friend? A funny and charming picture book about making friends in the most unexpected places from the award-winning Jenni Desmond.