Book picks similar to
World's End by Jake Halpern


fantasy
adventure
middle-grade
magic

First Hero


Adam Blade - 2010
    Brutal combat. Welcome to Avantia.At the age of seven, Tanner's father was killed in front of him by the evil warlord Derthsin. But his father's death was not in vain and Derthsin was carried away to his doom by a good Beast, Firepos the Flame Bird. Now, eight years later, another evil army is wreaking havoc across Avantia. But Tanner has been training with Firepos, waiting to avenge his father's death. There is something familiar about this new menace, who rides with a Beast of his own. The evil army is after the pieces of the Mask of Death--which allows whoever wears it to control all Beasts. Tanner sets off on a journey to stop them. Along the way, he encouters twins Gwen and Geffen, who hold the map to finding the remaining pieces.

Trundle's Quest


Allan Frewin Jones - 2010
    He's a lamplighter. He likes everything safe and cozy, and that's the way things are in his peaceful part of the Sundered Lands.Until Esmeralda barrels through his door.Esmeralda, a princess with a knack for magic and for finding trouble, is convinced that Trundle is the only one who can help her find the six crowns. Lost and scattered long ago, the crowns could unite the Sundered Lands once again. But not if the pirates find them first. Suddenly, Trundle is on the run. He becomes a stowaway, a drifter, a thief's accomplice, and a swordsman.Trundle may find that he is a true hero, after all . . . and that this is only the beginning of an epic journey.

DarkIsle


D.A. Nelson - 2007
    . . .For 10-year-old Morag, that magical world is no farther than the cellar of her cruel foster parents’ home. That’s where she’s shocked to meet Aldiss, a talking rat, and his resourceful companion, Bertie the dodo bird.Morag jumps at the chance to escape a life of drudgery and join them on their quest to save their homeland from an evil warlock named Devlish, who is intent on destroying it. But first, Bertie and Aldiss will need to stop bickering long enough to free the only guide who knows where to find Devlish: Shona, a dragon who’s been turned to stone. Together, these four friends begin their journey to a mysterious island beyond the horizon, where danger and glory await—along with clues to the disappearance of Morag’s parents, whose destiny seems somehow linked to her own.

Northwood


Brian Falkner - 2011
    So when she discovers a sad and neglected dog, she is determined to rescue him. No matter what. But her daring dog rescue lands her in deep trouble. Trouble in the form of being lost in the dark forest of Northwood. A forest where ferocious black lions roam. A forest that hides a secret castle, an unlikely king and many a mystery. A forest where those who enter never return. But Cecilia is determined to find her way home. No matter what.

Dragon Assassin


Arthur Slade - 2019
    But the emperor wants her dead. Her classmates might, too. At least she has a dragon on her side. Carmen is days from graduation at assassin school. She's desperate to finish ahead of her twin brother and the rest of the class. They’ve been trained to hunt using giant black swans, but Carmen has discovered a dragon. All she has to do is get on his back. One problem: he's killed everyone who gets near him. Then the Emperor declares war on assassins. Graduation night is about to become the fight of her life. The Dragon Assassin Boxed Set contains the 1st, 2nd and 3rd episodes in the Dragon Assassin series. Stories Included: Twin Fury Shadow Hunter Dark Wings Download the Dragon Assassin boxed set today! It’s a non-stop young adult adventure from best-selling author Arthur Slade. Perfect for fans of Dragon Riders of Pern, Dragon School, and The Brindle Dragon.

Lily


Holly Webb - 2011
    In a world where magic is outlawed, Lily runs wild and neglected. Once rich and powerful magicians, now Lily's family hide away in their crumbling house, while her older sister, Georgie, is trained secretly in magic. But when Lily discovers her parents' dark plan to use Georgie in a terrible plot to restore the country to its magical glory, she knows she must rescue her sister - and flee...The Lily books are set in the same world as Holly Webb's Rose books - but you can read either series first. Discover more by Holly Webb with herMagical Venice series - also filled with spellbinding adventures.

The Sower of Tales


Rachna Gilmore - 2005
    She dreams and muddles her way through her days, bumbling her chores and exasperating her mother. But when evening comes, and with it the Talemeet, Calantha comes to life. She is open and attentive to everything: the Gathering, the words of release, the Tale itself, and the harmony after, when the villagers, their worries put away for a while, peacefully watch the seeds waft way.And then something dreadful happens. In every field, in every ditch across the Plains where Story Pods used to grow, there is no new growth. Calantha is sickened, and not just by thinking about the end of the Tales. She can't stand that no one else seems to care: the threat from the northern king is worry enough, they believe. So she decides it's up to her to do what's necessary: to seek the legendary Sower of Tales, and find out what's really happening on the Plains.In The Sower of Tales, Governor-General's Award-winning author Rachna Gilmore has created a fantastic world and a stirring adventure; and Calantha, impatient and stubborn, dreamy and single-minded is an entirely human heroine whose personal journey goes straight to the heart.Winner of the National Chapter of Canada IODE Violet Downey Book Award for 2005Winner of the 2005 Jane Addams Children's Book Awards in the category of Honor Books for Older ChildrenA 2006 Manitoba Young Readers' Choice Award Honour BookRed Maple Award shortlist, 2005

The Snow-Walker's Son


Catherine Fisher - 1993
    Jessa and Thorkil are banished by the evil witch Gudrun to the ice kingdom to the North. Here they will be incarcerated with Gudrun's son Kari; about whom there are the most terrible tales. He is rumoured to be half-man, half-beast and is a figure of dread. After an endless journey, Thorkil and Jessa arrive and, at last meet Kari. He is not as they feared but is a slight winsome young man. His only terror is that he, too, has the power. But he is determined to use the magic wisely.

Mister Monday, Grim Tuesday, Drowned Wednesday, and Sir Thursday


Garth Nix
    Arthur Penhaligon has a dream that a mysterious figure has handed him a key! When he wakes, the key is still there! Includes 4 books: Book 1: Mister Monday, Book 2: Grim Tuesday, Book 3: Drowned Wednesday, and Book 4: Sir Thursday.Details Number of pages: 336400 pages

Evernight


Ross MacKenzie - 2020
    It was only defeated thanks to the skill and bravery of the Witches. But now the Evernight is about to return, released by the evil Mrs Hester, and the only spell that might stop it is lost, deep below the great city of King’s Haven.Then orphan Larabelle Fox stumbles across a mysterious wooden box while treasure-hunting in the city’s sewers. Little does she realise she is about to be catapulted into an adventure, facing wild magic and mortal danger – and a man who casts no shadow . . .

Abby in Oz


Sarah Mlynowski - 2020
    . . with hilarious and empowering results!Follow the yellow brick road . . .I'm with my best friends Robin and Frankie (and my sometimes friend, Penny) when a TORNADO scoops us up and whisks us away. As soon as we land, I can tell we're not in Smithville anymore -- we've been transported into The Wonderful Wizard of Oz!We're excited to meet Dorothy and Toto . . . but the story isn't going as planned. The Wicked Witch of the East locks us in her dungeon, so we have no way of getting the magic slippers that will take Dorothy home. Plus, the Emerald City is under attack, and the Wizard himself may be in danger!Now we have to:- Befriend the Lion, the Tin Man, and the Scarecrow- Flee the flying monkeys- Learn to steer a hot-air balloon- Find the courage, heart, and smarts to save the day. . . or we'll never escape -- and everyone knows there's no place like home!This edition is extra-magical, featuring puzzles, games, and a note from the author.

Secrets of the Magic Ring


Karen McQuestion - 2011
    Once that’s done, he’s shocked by the sudden arrival of a strange boy named Henry who demands Paul hand over his newfound treasure. Luckily, Paul’s dog scares off the intruder, leaving Paul to discover the contents of the box: a ring with directions for making wishes. When the ring ends up in the hands of his Aunt Vicky, her greatest wish quickly comes true. Could this ring be magical? Do wishes really come true? Paul is about to find out.This vibrant, imaginative tale reminds us that like eating too much ice cream, sometimes the things that start off as fun can lead to big trouble.

Elissa's Quest


Erica Verrillo - 2007
    She knows nothing of her parents—only that her mother is dead. Her caretaker, Nana, keeps her father's identity a secret from her. Meanwhile Elissa carries her own secret—the people of the valley must not know that she has the gift of speaking to animals. For now she is just a healer's apprentice in peaceful High Crossing, but Elissa dreams of a more exciting life, and of, one day, finding her father.When an unexpected royal guest arrives at the Manor, Elissa's life changes forever. She leaves home with him, only to discover that she's become a pawn in a battle for his kingdom. Accompanied by her dear donkey, Gertrude, she is delivered to the evil Khan. Elissa's quest for freedom and the truth about her past leads to questions about the future. Is she the key to a prophecy—the prophecy of the Phoenix—that everyone seems to know about, except her?In Book One of the Phoenix Rising trilogy, new author Erica Verrillo has crafted a classic—and often humorous—fantasy adventure with a strong, unwitting heroine.From the Hardcover edition.

The Eternity Elixir


Frank L. Cole - 2018
    But in the wrong hands, it could destroy the world as we know it.  Now, sinister potion masters are on the hunt to steal the Eternity Elixir. It’s up to Gordy, his parents, and his best friends, Max and Adeline, to prevent an all-out potion war.

Guardians of Magic


Chris Riddell - 2019
    But times are changing. The future of magic is in danger. Enemies are working together to destroy it - especially the magic of nature and its most powerful source, The Forever Tree. Unless three brave children fight back and believe in the impossible, soon magic and the cloud horses will be gone. Zam, Phoebe and Bathsheba don't yet know how powerful they are... In Guardians of Magic the Costa award-winning, 2015-2017 UK Children's Laureate Chris Riddell weaves together a magical quest. This is the first title in The Cloud Horse Chronicles series.Guardians of Magic is the first title in a brilliant new magical adventure series from the creator of Goth Girl, Chris Riddell. With gorgeous two-colour illustrations throughout and a special full-colour guide to the giants in the book, this fantastic hardback is a perfect gift.