Best Mates


Michael Morpurgo - 2015
    A collection of six magical and heart-warming animal stories, specially for World Book Day, by the nation’s favourite storyteller.From the author who brought you Joey the War Horse, Shadow the dog and Kaspar the cat comes a pocket-sized collection of perfect animal stories – proving that it’s not just dogs that are man’s best friends…Taken from the length of Michael Morpurgo’s career, the tales in this charming book will delight any child who loves animals … or stories! Readers will return to the best mates in this little book again and again.From dogs to cats, and from horses to dolphins and whales, it’s all here in this timeless treasury.Contains the stories:• The Silver Swan• It’s a Dog’s Life• Snug• Didn’t We Have a Lovely Time?• Dolphin Boy• This Morning I Met a Whale

The Maid's Courage


Rosie Goodwin - 2016
    After a series of drunken mistakes, her father is imprisoned for murder, and Ginny and her little brother Charlie lose the only home they've ever known. Worse is to come. Charlie is only eight years old and has a weak chest. Ginny is determined to keep him with her, but he is taken to the workhouse before she has a chance to save him. Lonely and desperate, Ginny wanders the streets of Nuneaton. She finds honest work at the pie shop - until she is forced to fight off the unwanted advances of the baker and she's out on the streets. It's only then that she remembers her father's final words - the housekeeper of Lamp Hill Hall will help her. Soon Ginny is employed as a laundry maid, the very lowest rung of the ladder. Her beauty and grace mean that she catches the eye of the house's mistress, who raises Ginny up to play lady's maid to the difficult and demanding Miss Diana. All Ginny wants is to find her brother - and it will take all her strength of heart and courage to bring her family together again.

The Day Tiger Rose Said Goodbye


Jane Yolen - 2011
    The talented multiple-medalist Jane Yolen takes on this difficult subject with her usual grace and poetic sensitivity, focusing not on the "death" as much as the "life" in the last day of an older cat named Tiger Rose. Tiger Rose's kitten days are long gone and she's grown too tired to stay, so she says her goodbyes to all the creatures and the joys of her natural world--from the scolding blue jay, to the dog and children she shares her home with, to a chipmunk, startled by her gentleness, to her favorite shady patch under a piney bush. In a final vision, Tiger Rose takes one last leap into the blue sky and becomes one with all--the earth, the air, the sun. . . . This is perhaps the most reassuring book on death available for children.

Simba's Pride (The Lion King II)


Walt Disney Company - 1994
    This matching folio features all of the songs from Disney's direct-to-video sequel to The Lion King . Includes piano/vocal/guitar arrangements of: He Lives in You * Love Will Find a Way * My Lullaby * One of Us * Upendi * We Are One. Features lovely color illustrations from the film.

Cats Have No Lord


Will Shetterly - 1985
    bound on a fool's quest to the top of the world to ask the Wisest One the oldest riddle of them all.WHY DO CATS HAVE NO LORD?A harmless enough question, isn't it? So why is someone moving heaven and hell to make sure it will never be asked?"The first-rate world building, the unique cast of characters, and the author's clever whimsey make it absorbing reading. Recommended." —Booklist

The Little Kitten


Judy Dunn - 1983
    Brief text and full-color photos portray a little girl's fun and problems with her inquisitive kitten named Pickle.

The House at World's End


Monica Dickens - 1970
    The children and their relatives clash endlessly, and at last Uncle Rudolph allows them to live in a tumbledown old inn he owns: World’s End.

The Go-Away Bird


Warren FitzGerald - 2010
    Clementine is a ten-year–old Rwandan girl, who witnesses the murder of her family as genocide devastates her beautiful country. She flees and these two disparate lives that seem destined to run parallel eventually collide offering both a kind of salvation they never imagined possible.

Dewey Bob


Judy Schachner - 2015
    Buttons, wheels, furniture and bricabrac adorn his cozy quarters and keep him busy as he finds and fixes, turning trash into treasures. But there’s something missing from Dewey’s collections—a friend! He tries gathering up some critters and bringing them home in his shopping cart, but that doesn’t work out so well. In the end, a friend does come Dewey’s way, and, with a little DIY help from this clever raccoon, returns again and again.Combining art and heart with storytelling genius and a lilting twang, Judy Schachner's tale of unexpected friendship will delight readers young and old.

Because of Thursday


Patricia Polacco - 2016
    She was born on a Thursday. She won her first cooking contest at the age of eight on a Thursday. She met the love of her life, Mario, on a Thursday. They were married on a bright Thursday afternoon and their two children were both born on a Thursday. Annie is known far and wide for her Poke Pasta Salad and has the most popular restaurant for miles around. When Mario suddenly passes away, Annie’s joy and love of cooking disappears. Before too long, a little kitty appears and Annie takes the kitty in, and, of course, calls it Thursday. Annie is back making Poke Salad in no time. Thursday the cat is known for amazing twirls and tricks and one day his twirls land him in Annie’s draining rigatoni, causing the pot of hot oil, garlic, and peppers to spill into the pasta! Then the entire container of Parmesan cheese overturned into the mix. The customers were horrified until they noticed that what looked like a big mess had the most amazing aroma and turned out to be the most delicious pasta dish ever created! Ugly Pasta—the dish that would make Annie famous for miles around—was born. And of course it was a Thursday!

Comet's Nine Lives


Jan Brett - 1996
    But he'd never thought much about it until the day he lost life number one in a flower garden on Nantucket. He'd spent lazy days wandering all over the island, not calling any one place home. Now he knows it is time to settle down. But Comet's lives begin to disappear all too quickly, as he gets into one humorous predicament after another. Then comes the day of the big hurricane.... Beautiful island scenes--sandy beaches, hillside flower gardens, seaside trails, villages, and the sea itself are set within exquisite shell borders. Once again Jan Brett brings her originality and charm to a familiar setting as she inhabits her Nantucket with colorful canine residents, among them a shaggy sheepdog captain who travels through the story and into the borders looking for a friend to live with him and his lighthouse cat.

Mortal Justice


M.A. Comley - 2016
    Lorne becomes increasingly concerned when her star witness, Donna Moran, goes missing. She knew Donna was petrified, but has Donna just gone into hiding, or has she been taken by the offenders? New York Times and USA Today Bestselling author M A Comley presents the Justice series. Bonus: Includes the first chapter of IMPEDING JUSTICE.The Justice series in order are:Cruel Justice #1 in Police Procedurals and 1# Women Sleuths.  FREEImpeding Justice #1 in Police Procedurals only 99p/99c Final justice #1 Action and Adventure Foul Justice #1 Hard-Boiled Mysteries Guaranteed Justice #1 Women Sleuths Ultimate Justice - #2 Women Sleuths Virtual Justice - #1 Hard Boiled/#2 Psychological ThrillersHostile Justice - #1 Police ProceduralTortured Justice - #1 Vigilante JusticeRough Justice - #1 Women SleuthsDubious Justice - #1 British DetectivesCalculated Justice -  Now available.Twisted Justice - Now available Blind Justice - introduction novella to the series.

Sleep Tight, Little Wolf – গভীর ভাবে ঘুমাও,ছোট নেকড়ে. Bilingual children's book (English – Bengali (Bangla)) (www.childrens-books-bilingual.com)


Ulrich Renz - 2015
    His little wolf is missing! Perhaps he forgot him outside? Tim heads out all alone into the night – and unexpectedly encounters some friends… "Sleep Tight, Little Wolf" is a heart-warming bedtime story. It has been translated into more than 50 languages and is available as a bilingual edition in all conceivable combinations of languages.দ্বিভাষিক শিশুদের বই, ইংরেজি – বাংলাটিম ঘুমিয়ে পড়া যাবে না I তার ছোট নেকড়ে নিরূদ্দেশ!সম্ভবত তিনি বাইরে তাকে ভুলে গেছেন? টিম একা রাতের মধ্যে বাহির হইআ গেল - এবং অপ্রত্যাশিতভাবে কিছু বন্ধুদের সম্মুখীন হইল I"গভীর ভাবে ঘুমাও,ছোট নেকড়ে" একটি হৃদয় স্পর্শী শয়নকালের গল্প Iএটা ৫০ টিরও বেশি ভাষায় অনূদিত হয়েছে এবং সব ভাষার অনুমেয় সমন্বয় এর একটি দ্বিভাষিক সংস্করণ হিসাবে সহজলভ্য|

Weapons Grade


Ross Sidor - 2014
    Avery and his team of paramilitary operators are soon unraveling a conspiracy involving an American traitor, double agents, and Russian criminal elements seeking to arm a Taliban warlord with weapons of mass destruction.From the remote terrorist enclaves of Central Asia, to the nuclear facilities of the former Soviet Union, WEAPONS GRADE is a riveting debut novel, the first in a series of covert action thrillers, packed with gritty, violent action that will appeal to readers of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor.

Hypershot


Trevor Scott - 2001
    military is shrinking, our leaders are turning to high technology as a force equalizer. America has not had a new hand-held rifle since the M16 was introduced in the 1960s. Now there's a new gun ready to take its position as the NATO standard. A gun so sophisticated, so fast, so unbelievably accurate, it will turn the average shooter into an expert marksman almost instantly. The problem is, it was developed by a German company with no U.S. production contract.That's where Warfield Arms, a Denver gun company, enters the action. Warfield hires Chad Hunter, a private weapons designer who had worked for the German company, to go to Germany to convince the company that Warfield is the perfect partner. To sweeten the deal, Hunter must first convince Frank Baldwin, a struggling optics engineer from Wyoming, who has developed the most advanced rifle scope ever conceived, that his scope would be the perfect match for this new German rifle. With the scope as bait, the Germans would surely deal.What Hunter and Baldwin find in Germany during the middle of the Oktoberfest celebration, could just get them both killed. Other countries and private factions would like this new weapon, and some in Germany want it only for that country. There's murder, kidnapping, extortion, and shoot-outs.... Who said the end of the Cold War wouldn't be any fun?