Book picks similar to
Hard Cash by Charles Reade


fiction
classics
mental-illness
victorian

Eight Cousins & Rose In Bloom


Louisa May Alcott - 2011
    This edition includes:Eight CousinsRose in Bloom

Rich Man, Poor Man / Beggarman, Thief


Irwin Shaw - 2013
    

Awakening & to Let


John Galsworthy - 1926
    Quality assurance was conducted on each of these books in an attempt to remove books with imperfections introduced by the digitization process. Though we have made best efforts - the books may have occasional errors that do not impede the reading experience. We believe this work is culturally important and have elected to bring the book back into print as part of our continuing commitment to the preservation of printed works worldwide.

Jack Archer


G.A. Henty - 1883
    The story begins with Jack at school when he is urgently sent for at home. His father tells Jack that he has gotten him a position as a midshipman on a paddle-steamer and will be leaving Portsmouth the following day.

Echo of Another Time


Audrey Howard - 1995
    Harper. By the age of 18 she has become a talented cook, but when she falls in love with a Latimer, all their lives change with frightening swiftness.

A Heart for Milton: A Tale from North and South


Trudy Brasure - 2011
    But was it too late now to let the handsome, brooding mill owner know? Based on the novel "North and South" by Elizabeth Gaskell, this book weaves a change near the end of the original plot to create a romantic continuation to an enduring love story.This variation of "North and South" is written with a special appreciation for the way Gaskell shows both John and Margaret's progressive path from their initial rigid viewpoints to an enlarged understanding of the other side's perspective, values, and experience. Challenging her readers and her characters to see past the outward differences of class, position, gender, and religion, Gaskell reveals how much we all have in common. "A Heart for Milton" brings to life all of Gaskell's rich characters: Nicholas Higgins, Hannah Thornton, Henry Lennox, Mr. Bell and others. But at its core, this tale unfolds the joy, hope, passion, and fulfillment of the love forged between John Thornton and Margaret Hale as the reader follows their journey through the uncertainties of their engagement to the trials encountered in their first year of marriage…and beyond.

Middlemarch/Silas Marner/Amos Barton


George Eliot - 1994
    Middlemarch, Eliot’s most famous work, paints a rich and complex portrait of English society. In Silas Marner, an embittered man retreats from the outside world, thinking only of work and money. Then his wealth is stolen, and a young foundling comes into his life and changes everything. Also included: the short story “Amos Barton.”

Before the Storm


Robert Thier - 2016
    Rikkard Ambrose, cold-hearted billionaire and hero of the “Storm and Silence” series is without a doubt the richest and most powerful man of the British Empire.How did he amass his fortune?What devious deeds lead to him becoming the man he is?If you’ve always wanted to know the answers to these questions, now’s your chance! This is “Before the Storm”, the Prequel to “Storm and Silence”, giving an insight into Mr. Ambrose’s early years.

Every Mother's Son


Lyn Andrews - 2005
    In the sequel to Friends Forever, Lyn Andrews writes a gripping wartime saga in Every Mother's Son - a tale depicting the power of love and the inner strength of the women of the Liverpool Blitz. Perfect for fans of Anne Baker, Joan Jonker and Kate Thompson.Molly and Bernie have been friends forever. As young girls they left Ireland seeking new beginnings in Liverpool. Now they are marrying their sweethearts and looking forward to enjoying the lives they've worked so hard to build. But as the Liverpool Blitz begins, it seems as if their dreams are about to be destroyed.Night after night, horrific bombing tears the city apart. As wives and mothers, both women know that they could face great tragedy. But they also know that their friendship, and their love for their husbands and sons, will give them the strength to find the happiness they deserve...

The Guilty River


Wilkie Collins - 1886
    Under the influence of suffering, I have become of enormous importance to myself. In this frame of mind, I naturally enjoy painting my own portrait in words. Let me add that they must be written words because it is a painful effort to me (since I lost my hearing) to speak to anyone continuously, for any length of time. I have also to confess that my brains are not so completely under my own command as I could wish. For instance, I possess considerable skill (for an amateur) as a painter in watercolors. But I can only produce a work of art, when irresistible impulse urges me to express my thoughts in form and color. The same obstacle to regular exertion stands in my way, if I am using my pen. I can only write when the fit takes me -- sometimes at night when I ought to be asleep; sometimes at meals when I ought to be handling my knife and fork; sometimes out of doors when I meet with inquisitive strangers who stare at me. As for paper, the first stray morsel of anything that I can write upon will do, provided I snatch it up in time to catch my ideas as they fly. . . ."

The Whip


Catherine Cookson - 1982
    But Emma Molinero, orphan daughter of an itinerant carnival performer, is beyond that kind of struggle. She is a woman whose fiery independence and skill at performing with the whips -- her father's only legacy -- make her a figure of mysterious but commanding fascination to the villagers among whom she lives. "THE WHIP is Miss Cookson's finest novel to date...a richly detailed, totally absorbing story that will surely add many new readers to the millions who are already devoted Catherine Cookson fans." (Publisher's Source)

Little Dorrit: Volume 1


Charles Dickens - 1856
    Considered one of the English language's greatest writers, he was acclaimed for his rich storytelling and memorable characters, and achieved massive worldwide popularity in his lifetime. The popularity of his novels and short stories has meant that not one has ever gone out of print. Dickens wrote serialised novels, the usual format for fiction at the time, and each new part of his stories was eagerly anticipated by the reading public. Among his best-known works are Sketches by Boz (1836), The Pickwick Papers (1837), Oliver Twist (1838), Nicholas Nickleby (1839), Barnaby Rudge (1841), A Christmas Carol (1843), Martin Chuzzlewit (1844), David Copperfield (1850), Bleak House (1853), (1857), A Tale of Two Cities (1859), Great Expectations (1861) and Our Mutual Friend (1865).

Mrs. Parkington


Louis Bromfield - 1942
    Within her own lifetime she had become almost a legendary figure -- stormy, glittering, tragic, but never dull.Married at 17 to one of the most colorful and ruthless of the great robber barons, she had known both the famous and interestingly infamous of two continents; had seen the gaudy world of the great Fifth Aeneue chateaux come into being, flourish, and decay; and now observed with wise, weary eyes the mad, turbulent world of the 20th century. At 84, she still had more zest for life than any of her descendents, all of whom--with the exception of her great-grand-daughter Janie--she privately despised.

Sarah's Cottage


D.E. Stevenson - 1968
     Their full entrance into village life is helped by Sarah's grandparents, who have given them the land on which they have built their cottage. Sarah and Charles work together, collaborating in translations for a publisher, whilst Charles also embarks on writing his autobiography. Yet it soon becomes not books, but life itself which increasingly engrosses him and Sarah. In particular Frederica, the daughter of Sarah’s frivolous and pleasure-seeking sister, commands their sympathy and love. One by one the characters of a large, attractive family make their appearance, and their relationships are woven into a deeply satisfying story. But it is the maturing of Frederica from her infancy into a young woman which stands at the centre, and it is through her that the nexus of family problems is finally resolved... Praise for D. E. Stevenson: "Consistently charming" - The Times "Mistress of the light novel" - The Times D. E. Stevenson (1892–1973) was a Scottish author of more than 40 light romantic novels. Her father was the lighthouse engineer David Alan Stevenson, first cousin to the author Robert Louis Stevenson.

A Woman of Means: A Novel


Peter Taylor - 1950
    Louis, living the quintessential bachelor life with his young son, Quint. He is also a man who aspires beyond his means and class. When Gerald meets the wealthy divorcée Ann Lauterbach and the two marry, life changes irrevocably for Quint. He enters a social world of private schools and debutante balls known to him only through his father's longings. As Quint's attachment to his stepmother and her "means" grows, her marriage to his father begins to crumble in small, subtle ways, which ultimately leads to larger, more devastating consequences.