The Haunting of Highcliff Hall


Cat Knight - 2017
    She didn’t know what waited for her or why the village folk avoided her, or why the live in help moved out when she arrived. She should have believed the Hag. When foreign correspondent Catherine Davis inherits her grand aunt’s castle, it’s enough to convince her to leave her globe-trotting life behind and write her novel. But before she ever steps one foot out of London, a Hag, warns her that she is cursed. The always sceptical, Catherine disregards the Hag’s warnings. But when she arrives at Highcliff Hall and discovers that most of the villagers are afraid of her, she begins to wonder. What do the caretaker and the housekeeper know about Highcliff? What aren’t they telling her? Why is the house strewn with herbs? And why is the tower locked? Can Catherine survive the lethal confrontation with paranormal forces long enough to discover the answers, or is she doomed like those before her.If you love ghosts and Haunted houses, you really should be reading Cat Knight’s other books. List of Books The Haunting of Elleric LodgeThe Haunting of Grayson HouseThe Haunting of Weaver HouseThe Haunting of Fairview HouseThe Haunting of Keira O’ConnellThe Haunting of Ferncoombe HouseThe Haunting of Stone Street CemeteryThe Haunting of Knoll HouseIf you read stories in the occult, occultism, horror, supernatural and paranormal genres then add these to your reading list.

Panic Button


Frazer Lee - 2011
    On board the private jet, they are invited to take part in the in-flight entertainment – a new online gaming experience. But this is no ordinary game. Trapped at 30,000 feet and forced to play for their lives and the lives of their loved ones by their mysterious captor, they are about to learn that putting your life on-line can have deadly offline consequences… In PANIC BUTTON, Frazer Lee explores timely fears about online privacy and security, cyber bullying and identity theft.

Mr. Mercedes by Stephen King - A 30-Minute Summary


Instaread Summaries - 2014
    Mr. Mercedes by Stephen King - A 30-minute Summary of the Novel Inside this Instaread Summary: Overview of the entire bookIntroduction to the Important people in the bookSummary and analysis of all the chapters in the bookKey Takeaways of the bookA Reader's Perspective Preview of this summary: Part1Chapter 1Down-on-his-luck, Augie Odenkirk helps homeless Janice Cray care for her baby as they wait in the early morning fog for a job fair. A gray Mercedes plows into the crowd. Augie, Janice and the baby are among the victims.Part 2Chapters 1-3About a year after the Mercedes crash, Retired Detective K. William Hodges watches more grubby reality shows, fails to enjoy his beer, and thinks, again, of shooting himself. The arrival of the mail distracts him. A letter, allegedly from the driver of the killer Mercedes, stuns him. The writer brags about killing eight and wounding many. He says that he got off sexually at he drove into the crowd. He wore a condom and used bleach to get rid of any DNA. He wore a hair net under a clown mask for the same reason. He knows Hodges is miserable and hopes the letter cheers him up. He gives Hodges a website where they can talk, including a username: kermitfrog19.Chapters 4-6Hodges wonders if he should turn the letter over to his former partner, Pete Huntley. He believes the writer is the killer because he knows inside information about the condom and the bleach. The idea of using this letter, and chats on line, to catch the killer gives Hodges a reason to live.Chapter 7-9Hodges analyzes the letter and sees that the writer has several identifying traits, including misusing perk for perp and peppering his words with an image of a smiley face. The same smiley face was glued onto the steering wheel of the Mercedes. Hodges calls Pete and makes a lunch date....

The House That Death Built


Michaelbrent Collings - 2016
    Getting out... will be another matter. *** It was supposed to be just one more job: in, out, and millions the richer. But when four thieves break into THIS house, they discover the owners were ready. And waiting. Now, the thieves find themselves in a deadly maze of traps. Traps designed not only to steal their lives, but their sanity. The only way out is the front door. The only way to get there is to survive. And the only way to survive is to be willing to do anything, to suffer all... and to lose everything.

PEST


Anna Willett - 2020
    Certainly, get this book if you like Stephen King, Dean Koontz, or Amy Cross.Anna Willett is the author of several suspenseful thrillers available on Kindle and in paperback. Look out for the recently published three book series comprised of SMALL TOWN NIGHTMARE, COLD VALLEY NIGHTMARE and SAVAGE BAY NIGHTMARE.

Invisible


Barbara Copperthwaite - 2014
    Something is wrong. With her marriage, with her husband, with her. But as she pours her heart out to her diary, it’s clear she doesn’t know what. Until one explosive night she finds a possible answer. Suddenly hated and vilified by everyone, she clings to her relationship – even while wondering if she really knows her husband at all... INVISIBLE is a stunningly powerful, gripping and original psychological thriller of subtle insight that takes you on a twisted journey through one woman’s marriage. Perfect for fans of THE WIDOW and WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN. "Totally gripping and scarily believably characters. One of the most assured debuts of the year" BELLA "Dark, gripping, twisted - we loved it!" REAL PEOPLE MAGAZINE "This psychological thriller will stay with you for a long time after you've put it down" CRIME CONFIDENTIAL "Seriously impressed. Such a powerful psychological thriller... Monumental character development" MANY BOOKS, MANY LIVES "Totally and utterly convincing," POSTCARD REVIEWS "Quietly brilliant," BY THE LETTER BOOK REVIEWS "All-consuming. I lived and breathed this book. An absolutely gripping read, and quite unforgettable," BEING ANNE

A Small Dark Place


Martin Schenk - 1997
    Until they hear the story of a little girl who slipped down an abandoned mine. Americans respond with prayers. And cash. Now the Wileys hatch their own desperate plan. But something goes terribly wrong, as their precious daughter Andromeda--scared of shadows, monsters, and most of all, the dark--falls into the darkest place of all.Years later, she returns home, all grown up and recovered from the incident that made her famous. Beautiful, alluring, Andromeda is coming back to the town where it began. To share with everyone the secrets of a small, dark place--and to show them the evil they have made. . . .From the Paperback edition.

The Bone Factory


Nate Kenyon - 2009
    Until the deaths. First a farmer was found horribly mutilated in his field. Then a little girl disappeared from her home. Deep in the woods a deputy came upon a chamber of horrors straight from a nightmare. And through it all, one child is haunted by visions of the mysterious "blue man," a madman who brings with him blood and pain and terror, a terror spawned by forces no one can understand.

Exorcist: The Beginning


Steven Piziks - 2003
    Haunted by his memories of World War II, Lankester Merrin takes a sabbatical from the priesthood to lead an archaeological excavation of a mysterious Byzantine church in a remote region of Kenya, unaware that an ancient crypt beneath the church contains an unspeakable evil that is about to be unleas

No Way to Treat a Lady


William Goldman - 1989
    Uno dei migliori noir mai scritti.

Neighborhood Watch


Joseph A. Turkot - 2013
    When another boy vanishes, parents begin to worry about their children. When bodies turn up in the local river, cut to pieces, stuffed inside industrial-strength black trash bags, the town begins to shut down.The day that Brandon Grey is last seen walking home from school by teachers, two young boys are starting a street hockey game. A man stops at the end of their block, takes a picture of them, and drives off. All they catch is the model and color of the car he’s driving.Jake and Colin, fueled by their ambition to form a detective club, decide to go searching for the car that haunts them. They soon take it upon themselves to find Brandon Grey. As tensions in town rise, and so does the body count, they find themselves deep in a mystery they never bargained for, closer to the serial killer than they could have ever imagined.

In The Deep Woods


Nicholas Condé - 1989
    Reprint. TV tie-in.

The Vivisectionist


Ike Hamill - 2011
    They'll camp out in the backyard for their last vacation before high school. There's only one problem — even though they're just a hundred feet from the safety of the house, they're being hunted by a serial killer.Join Jack, Ben, and Stephen as they strap on their backpacks and go out looking for adventure. The woods behind Jack's house contain endless trails to explore, and the boys have weeks to investigate them all. Their neighborhood finally seems at peace again, now that the man who snatched the kid from down the street has been caught. But there's still danger in those woods, and the boys are about to stumble into it...

The Mother


Jaime Raven - 2017
     South London detective Sarah Mason is a single mother. It’s a tough life, but Sarah gets by. She and her ex-husband, fellow detective Adam Boyd, adore their 15-month-old daughter Molly.Until Sarah’s world falls apart when she receives a devastating threat: Her daughter has been taken, and the abductor plans to raise Molly as their own, as punishment for something Sarah did.Sarah is forced to stand back while her team try to track down the kidnapper. But her colleagues aren’t working fast enough to find Molly. To save her daughter, Sarah must take matters into her own hands, in a desperate hunt that will take her to the very depths of London’s underworld.

The Promise


J.S. Donovan - 2019
     Filling the shoes of his father, pro bono lawyer Clyde Barker returns to Hartwell to collect his inheritance. However, he uncovers something much darker in his newfound plot of land. Obsessed with finding answers, Clyde risks everything to digs deep into the town’s history and his own past. The truth will either change his life forever and send him to an early grave.