Book picks similar to
Eldritch Manor by Kim Thompson


fantasy
childrens
middle-grade
adventure

Pigs Might Fly


Emily Rodda - 1986
    Can they? Ǡwish something would happen! said Rachel. үmething interesting!' Afterwards, she would remember what she'd said and how she'd felt, that rainy Saturday morning, and she would think: Taat was really the beginning.and her stomach would give a little jolt, and the tips of her fingers would tingle. But at the time she didn't know what was in store. All she knew was that she was bored. Bored with having a cold and having to stay in bed. Bored with the rain drumming on the roof. If only something unlikely or unexpected would happen for a change. Something exciting - something wonderful. ybe it will! her father said. .d pigs might fly!' Ages 10+

The Quest for the Sun Gem


Belinda Murrell - 2011
    Where are Ethan and Lily's parents being held, and where have the Sun Sword and its magical gems been hidden? Joined by their friend Saxon and the determined Princess Roana, Ethan and Lily must solve puzzles and riddles, escape legendary sea monsters, and outwit bandits along the way. But the greatest threat to the children is the sinister Sedah tracker, Sniffer, who is close on their trail. Can the four friends find the Sun Gem—before the Sedah can find them?

The Owlstone Crown


X.J. Kennedy - 1983
    What a life! When private detective Lewis O. Ladybug brings news from another world, everything changes. Gran and Gramp are in trouble, and it's up to Timothy and Verity to rescue them. Led to Other Earth by the tiny detective, they meet a crew of unlikable characters, make some amazing new friends, and find themselves in the midst of one adventure after another.

Gregory and the Grimbockle


Melanie Schubert - 2017
    It is a very important job and one that has long been carried out with incredible secrecy......that is, before tonight.

Princess Juniper of the Hourglass


Ammi-Joan Paquette - 2015
    For her thirteenth nameday all Princess Juniper wants is a country of her own. So when rumblings of unrest start in his kingdom, Juniper's father decides to grant his daughter's wish and sends her to a small, idyllic corner of the Hourglass Mountains until trouble blows over. Once there, Juniper discovers that ruling a small country–even just for the summer–is a bit harder than she'd expected, especially when cousin Cyril challenges her rule. Still, the most difficult part is to come. Juniper and her friends discover that her father's kingdom is at war. The only way to stay safe is to remain in the Hourglass Mountains much longer than planned. Juniper may have her own country after all . . . but what will that mean for the kingdom of Torr?This book is perfect for fans of Frozen and Brave, who like their princess strong and smart as well as sparkly. Praise for Princess Juniper of the Hourglass:"I absolutely loved Princess Juniper of the Hourglass!  It's fantastically delightful, delicious, and satisfying.  You'll want to follow Juniper to her kingdom -- or even better, start your own!"--Sarah Beth Durst, author of Enchanted Ivy and Ice  “I adored Princess Juniper! Readers will cheer as she leads and defends her hidden kingdom in this deliciously charming fantasy.”--Julie Berry, author of The Secondhand Charm and The Amaranth Enchantment“Princess Juniper proves that you can love your silk dresses and still be a hero. This is a smart, feisty kid with a thirst for experiences, and I loved watching her learn to lead. A fun and insightful coming-of-age tale.”—Ellen Booraem, author of Small Persons With Wings "A gently adventurous and luxuriously detailed romp."--Kirkus Reviews"With elements from William Golding’s The Lord of the Flies and Paul Fleischman’s Westlandia, this story can be enjoyed by those who love princess stories and adventure tales....A rollicking tale that will please a wide range of readers."--School Library Journal"This...dramatic and humorous novel...involves some entertaining twists and paves the way for more lighthearted intrigue ahead."--Publishers Weekly "Paquette takes young readers gently by the hand into the adult world of responsibility, danger, and the unknown. The fully developed cast of characters is engaging, and readers will cheer the conclusion and happily await Juniper’s further adventures."--Booklist    Ammi-Joan Paquette Awards and Reviews:Ghost in the House  A Huffington Post “Best Halloween Books of 2013,” School Library Journal “Great Books for Halloween” pick; and Canadian Children’s Book Centre “Best Books for Kids & Teens” 2014 pick  Petey & Pru and the Hullabaloo  Starred review, Kirkus  The Tiptoe Guide to Tracking Fairies  A "Best Books for Children 2009" choice by the Association of Booksellers for Children Featured in Scholastic: Parent & Child magazine’s “Fun Finds”

Grerks, Squirms & Water Greeps


Kes Gray - 2005
    When Petronella Morton puts an ad in the local newspaper for "MONSTER-SITTING AFTER SCHOOL AND WEEKEND:S," little does she know that her phone will begin to ring...AND RING AND RING AND RING! Nelly soon discovers that there are families of monsters living secretly all over the Montelimar Estate! Whether it's trying to keep Slop the Squurm entertained, walking the Grerks' pedigree gog, Glug, or solving a bank robbery with the help of three little Water Greeps, Nelly's always got her hands full! Join her at three different addresses, for three monstrously different monster-sitting adventures!

Baby Aliens Got My Teacher!


Pamela Butchart - 2014
    This is the woman who was caught secretly smiling when Maisie Miller fell off her chair. There can only be one conclusion: she’s been taken over by aliens, and now she wants to make them all aliens too!A laugh-out-loud funny debut that captures the craziness of primary school, where (of course!) your teacher might just be an alien and your best friend is frightened of peas.

The Secrets of Hexbridge Castle


Gabrielle Kent - 2015
    Perfect for fans of ENID BLYTON, ROALD DAHL, and J K ROWLING.Alfie Bloom's life is dull. Dull and lonely, and this summer is set to be the most boring yet. All of that changes when he is summoned to the bizarre offices of mysterious solicitor, Caspian Bone, where he discovers he has inherited a castle full of wonders that has been sealed for centuries. Alfie is astounded to learn he was born in that very castle six hundred years ago during a magical timeslip. There, Orin Hopcraft, the last of the druids hid an ancient magic inside him, which others seek but should never be used. With the help of his cousins Madeleine and Robin, and Artan the flying bearskin rug, Alfie must keep the magic from terrifying adversaries and ensure that the secrets of Hexbridge castle stay secret, forever!

The Edge Chronicles 11: The Nameless One: First Book of Cade


Paul Stewart - 2014
    Friends are all that can save him from thieving goblins, brutal skymarshals, and the threat of ‘skyfiring’, trapped nameless one, fever, trogs, venom . . .

The Shadow Thief


Alexandra Adornetto - 2007
    When the pair are kidnapped from their homes and brought to live in the gothic mansion known as Hog House, they are adopted by the madcap Mr and Mrs Mayor and a series of bizarre encounters follows. Things do not add up and the children find that sinister plans are beginning to emerge. Why has the notorious Lord Aldor stolen the shadows of all of the town's residents and where are they being held? Assisted by a band of prisoners, the children must venture into the Taboo Territories, and battle the perils dished out by the Lurid Lagoon, in order to outwit Lord Aldor and prevent him from executing his secret master plan.Praise for The Shadow Thief: 'Clearly [Adornetto] is already an Australian literary phenomenon ... to read The Shadow Thief is to be thrust into a fast-moving plot full of menace and thrills, amply seeded with a magnificently precocious vocabulary' -The Courier-Mail'an impressive debut ... a wonderful fantasy story, full of adventure and scary, dark shadows' -The Australian Women's Weekly 'a comic fantasy full of magic' -The Sydney Morning Herald

Wishful Thinking


Ali Sparkes - 2010
    It's Abandinus, a Celtic deity, who has suddenly found a new purpose in his eternal life, sorting out Kevin's. With a god on your side everything's going to get a lot easier, isn't it?

Lily Quench and the Dragon of Ashby


Natalie Jane Prior - 2004
    As a family of dragon slayers, the Quenches of Ashby have always been burning successes...until the evil Black Count invades, and the family's fortunes go into a downward spiral.  Then a dragon unexpectedly arrives and Lily, the last of the Quenches, is called upon to fight it.  Soon she finds herself on a desperate, magical quest to save Ashby from destruction-and restore the lost heir to his throne...

Spindlefish and Stars


Christiane M. Andrews - 2020
    But when he fails to meet her one morning, sending her instead a mysterious ticket of half-paffage, Clo finds herself journeying across the sea to reunite with him. The ticket, however, leaves her on a sunless island inhabited only by creaking fishermen, a rumpled old woman, a piggish cat, and a moon-cheeked boy named Cary.Clo is quickly locked away and made to spend her days in unnerving chores with the island's extraordinary fish, while the old woman sits nearby weaving an endless gray tapestry. Frustrated and aching with the loss of her father, Clo must unravel the mysteries of the island and all that's hidden in the vast tapestry's threads -- secrets both exquisite and terrible. And she must decide how much of herself to give up in order to save those she thought she'd lost forever.Inspired by Greek mythology.

Keeper of Reign


Emma Right - 2013
    It's bad enough that his people, the Elfies of Reign, triggered a curse which reduced the entire inhabitants to a mere inch centuries ago. All because of one Keeper who failed his purpose. Even the King's Books, penned with the Majesty's own blood, did not help ward off this anathema. Now, Gehzurolle, the evil lord, and his armies of Scorpents, seem bent on destroying Jules and his family. Why? Gehzurolle's agents hunt for Jules as he journeys into enemy land to find the truth. Truth that could save him and his family, and possibly even reverse the age-long curse. Provided Jules doesn't get himself killed first.

Sisters of Glass


Naomi Cyprus - 2017
    Two worlds. Only magic can bring them together, in this fantastical middle grade adventure for fans of the Descendants and School for Good and Evil series.Halan is a powerless princess. She is heir to the Magi Kingdom, a blazing desert land ruled by ancient magic. But unlike every royal before her, Halan has no magical powers of her own.Nalah is a powerful pauper. The glassblower’s daughter, she lives in the land of New Hadar, where magic is strictly outlawed. But Nalah has a powerful force growing within her—one she can’t always control.One girl fears magic, one worships it. But when a legendary mirror connects them, Nalah and Halan finally meet—and must work together to save their two worlds, before everything they know is shattered forever.