Book picks similar to
That's Not My Zebra… by Fiona Watt


touch-and-feel
thats-not-my
childrens
arad-books

Eric Carle My First Busy Book


Eric Carle - 2015
    Each page features a different concept, from numbers and shapes, to colors, animals, and sounds! With a mylar mirror that’s visible through the cover, glitter, lift-the-flaps, touch-and-feels, and more, this book is sure to be a hit with babies and parents. It’s a must-have for every Eric Carle collection!

Beach Baby


Laurie Elmquist - 2016
    Castles, sand dollars, seals peering out of the waves and the beat of the ocean become sweet reminders of all the magical things that await baby tomorrow. A lyrical celebration of natural beauty and a soft, reassuring reminder for little ones being tucked into bed that fun and adventure will return with a new day.Elly MacKay's paper-theater worlds are a delight to behold and infuse the story with a sense of magic and wonder. Beautiful verse from Laurie Elmquist sets a calm and serene tone. A breathtaking board book that will be treasured and make a wonderful gift.

Barnyard Boogie!


Tim McCanna - 2017
    All the musicians are coming to play! Each animal musician knows what to do, but Cow can only moo! This charming book is a wonderful read-aloud featuring musical sounds and a refrain children will love repeating. Tim McCanna’s playful text will have children laughing at the funny musical sounds, and Allison Black’s energetic illustrations will make children want to get up and move.  Barnyard Boogie! is full of rhyming and nonsense sounds that will enrich and delight.

TouchThinkLearn: Colors: (Early Learners book, New Baby or Baby Shower Gift)


Xavier Deneux - 2013
    Combining scooped-out die-cuts with raised, shaped elements, each book is designed to offer the youngest learners an irresistible opportunity to explore their universe in a hands-on, multisensory way. Seeing the image, tracing its shape, saying its name: these modes of perception combine in a dynamic way to stimulate understanding of essential concepts. Experience green both in the beauty of a raised leaf's surface as well as in the caterpillar that munches on the leaf's edge. Celebrate a moon rising into the night, while simultaneously a sun sets deep into the mirroring page.• Translates abstract thought into tangible knowledge• Gives early learning new dimension"A bold, graphic and tactile introduction to colors." — Kirkus ReviewsFans of Press Here, Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See?, and Chicka Chicka Boom Boom will love this book. This book is a great read for:• Babies and toddlers• Childcare workers• Parents• Grandparents

Baby Loves Green Energy!


Ruth Spiro - 2018
    Beautiful, visually stimulating illustrations complement age-appropriate language to encourage baby's sense of wonder. Parents and caregivers may learn a thing or two as well!

Rhymoceros


Janik Coat - 2015
    His ability to appear “stinky” and “inky,” or “caring” and “daring,” oftentimes lands him in compromising contexts. Fortunately, he doesn’t seem to mind. Surprising novelty features such as gold foil stamping and flocking enhance this unique, gifty, high-design concept board book.

Baby Parade


Rebecca O'Connell - 2013
    This adorable parade will be irresistible to toddlers (and caregivers) everywhere.

Baby Happy Baby Sad


Leslie Patricelli - 2008
    But when that delectable treat goes splat, it makes Baby SAD. And how quickly HAPPY turns to SAD when a favorite red balloon flies away! Even the littlest listeners will relate to this playful look at a pair of emotions that are part of every baby's day.

The Nice Book


David Ezra Stein - 2008
    . . well, maybe a little. Love was meant to be passed on.An adorable menagerie of irrestible animals populate this gentle look at friendship. Getting close to someone is an art and these little creatures demonstrate the simple ways to show you care. David Ezra Stein's expressive illustrations ooze charm and will inspire readers to be very nice indeed.

The Pigeon Has Feelings, Too!


Mo Willems - 2005
    How does it feel to be a Pigeon? Well, the bus driver is trying to get him to act happy, but as we all know, this is one bird that is not going to be told what to do! Throughout this hilarious board book, Pigeon runs through his signature gamut of emotions while attempting to thwart his old nemesis.

I See Kitty


Yasmine Surovec - 2013
    She wants a cat so much that she sees Kitty everywhere she goes: at the bus stop, in her backyard, in the starry night sky, even in her dreams. From debut children's book illustrator Yasmine Surovec comes a story so adorable that if you don't already love cats you will by the time you're done reading it. In the tradition of iconic preschool books like Where's Spot?, I See Kitty uses bright, bold artwork to appeal to very young readers and charm them for generations to come.

I Kissed the Baby!


Mary Murphy - 2003
    . . . The high-contrast pictures and exclamatory text are guaranteed eye and ear magnets for the littlest ones. -- Publishers Weekly (starred review)I saw the baby! Did you see the baby?Yes! I saw the baby, the teeny weeny thing.It's so exciting! News of the baby is buzzing from animal to animal, with each one -- fish, bird, squirrel, insect, frog -- boasting of seeing, feeding, singing to, tickling, and kissing the tiny little thing. With bold, graphic black-and-white illustrations, Mary Murphy's simple, singsong story captures the giddy commotion that only a baby can bring.

A Is for Angry: An Animal and Adjective Alphabet


Sandra Boynton - 1987
    An Angry Animal Assortment Along an Arrow starts off the whimsy as a Big Bashful Bear, a Cute Clean Cat, a Tangled Turkey, a Wide Walrus, a Yellow Yak, and others in between romp through the letters A-Z. In classic Boynton style, the irresistible animal characters climb the tall letters, perch on the squat ones, hang from the curves of the round ones. Selection of the Children's Book-of-the-Month Club. Suitable for ages 3-5.

Sloth Slept On


Frann Preston-Gannon - 2014
    Sloth Slept on

Planes


Byron Barton - 1986
    With simple text and vibrant illustrations, readers will learn about transportation by plane. Byron Barton's Planes "will delight the youngest, and have enough meat for older preschoolers and beginning readers."—Kirkus ReviewsSupports the Common Core State Standards